## OHIO SENATE Committee on Workforce and Higher Education Minutes May 31, 2023

## 135th General Assembly

The Senate Committee on Workforce and Higher Education was called to order pursuant to the meeting notice at approximately 11 02 am in the North Hearing Room of the Statehouse.

Attendance was taken with a quorum present. The Committee proceeded to its first order of business.

The minutes of the May 17th 2023 meeting were approved.

The Chair called for the following Governors Appointments for to be referred Carlton Ingram, EGCC Board of Trustees
P. Kelly Timkins, CSU Board of Trustees
Lucas Martin Sutter, TSCC Board of Trustees
Lois Elaine Thornton, EGCC Board of Trustees

The role of chair was changed temporarily to Senator Michael Rulli

The Chair called for SB104 to have its first hearing, the following testimony was provided Senator Andrew Brenner & Senator Jerry Cirino, Ohio Senate, Sponsor, written and verbal

The chair was returned to Senator Cirino

The chair called SB117 for its 3rd hearing, and the following testimony was provided

Megan Anderson, citizen of OH, opponent, written and verbal

Richard Fletcher, citizen of OH, opponent, written and verbal

Christopher Nichols, citizen of OH, opponent, written and verbal

Dr. Stephen Mockabee, OH Conference - AAUP, opponent, written and verbal

Clifton J. Porter, citizen of OH, opponent, written and verbal

Benjamin Noah Woods, citizen of OH, opponent, written and verbal

Renee Hopper, citizen of OH, opponent, written and verbal

Benjamin Davis, self, opponent, written and verbal

Dr. Chris Crews, Ohioans for CRT, opponent, written and verbal

Rashad Daoudi, citizen of OH, opponent, written and verbal

Colin Flanagan, citizen of OH, opponent, written and verbal

Jourdyn McQueary, citizen of OH, opponent, written and verbal

Dr. Brian Evans, OPPA, opponent, written and verbal

The Chair called for SB60 to have its 3rd hearing

The committee motioned to amend SB60, roll was called, passed with a vote of 4-1

The following testimony was provided

Monica Huckel, OSMB, opponent, written and verbal

Michell McDiffett, OAPA, opponent, written and verbal

Caitlyn Lauderman, OAFP, opponent, written and verbal

With no further business before the committee, the chair closed committee at 12 54pm

Jerry C. Cirino, Chair