OHIO SENATE Committee on Workforce and Higher Education Minutes October 3, 2023 135th General Assembly

The Senate Committee on Workforce and Higher Education was called to order pursuant to the meeting notice at approximately 1 01 pm in the North Hearing Room of the Statehouse.

Attendance was taken with a quorum present. The Committee proceeded to its first order of business.

The minutes of the September 27th 2023 meeting were approved.

The chair called for the following governor's appointments to be approved Bradley Kastan, The Ohio State University Board of Trustees Thomas Milligan, Edison State Community College Board of Trustees James Oda, Edison State Community College Board of Trustees Donald Plotts, Marion Technical College Board of Trustees Elizabeth McNellie, Miami University Board of Trustees Markee Osborne, Shawnee State University Board of Trustees Nikki Byrd, Cleveland State University Board of Trustees Phillip Greenberg, Bowling Green State University Board of Trustees Renato Camacho, Kent State University Board of Trustees Richard Fryda, Youngstown State University Board of Trustees Robert Smith, Cuyahoga Community College Board of Trustees Sallie Schisler, Shawnee State University Board of Trustees Thomas Parfitt, Ohio University Board of Trustees Vice Chair, Senator Rulli motion to favorable approve the appointments, motion was unanimous for those in attendance

The chair called for HB27 to have its 2nd hearing, and the following testimony was provided Kevin Duff, Ohio Excels, proponent, written and verbal Tom Walsh, OACC, proponent, written and verbal Nicholas Barry, OH Citizen, proponent, written John Mandazk, OH Citizen, proponent, written Melinda Barman, OH Citizen, proponent, written Diane Zimmer, OSCA, proponent, written Stephen Mattingly, OH Citizen, proponent, written

The chair called for SB60 to have its 4th hearing, the following testimony was provided Monica Hueckel, OSMA, opponent, written and verbal John Stilliana, NEOMed, proponent, written and verbal Meredith Craig, OCC, proponent, written

With no further business before the chair, the committee was called to a close at 1 57 pm

Jerry C. Cirino, Chair