JOURNALS OF THE SENATE AND HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

OHIO House of Representatives JOURNAL

WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 18, 2023

EIGHTY-FIRST DAY Hall of the House of Representatives, Columbus, Ohio Wednesday, October 18, 2023, 9:00 o'clock a.m.

The House met pursuant to adjournment.

Pursuant to House Rule No. 23, the Clerk called the House to order.

Representative Abrams was selected to preside under the Rule.

The journal of the previous legislative day was read and approved.

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

The following bills were introduced:

H. B. No. 299 - Representative Jones.

To enact section 5534.656 of the Revised Code to designate a portion of State Route 7 in Washington County as the "Specialist Five Frederick Wayne Taylor Memorial Highway."

H. B. No. 300 - Representatives Baker, Ray. Cosponsors: Representatives Brennan, Grim, Isaacsohn, Miranda, Dell'Aquila, Hillyer, Manning, Robb Blasdel.

To establish a pilot program for remote treatment of opioid use disorder and to make an appropriation.

H. B. No. 301 - Representative Swearingen.

To amend sections 1701.86, 1702.27, 1702.30, 1702.33, 1702.38, 1702.521, 1702.53, 1702.55, and 1745.05 and to enact sections 1702.341 and 1702.531 of the Revised Code to amend the Nonprofit Corporation Law and the law governing dissolving corporations.

H. B. No. 302 - Representatives Rogers, Swearingen. Cosponsors: Representatives Williams, Brennan, Brewer, Brent, Denson, Kick, Grim, Jarrells, Upchurch, Abdullahi, Sweeney, Brown, Thomas, C., Humphrey, Weinstein, Troy, Dell'Aquila, Lightbody.

To amend section 4501.21 and to enact section 4503.959 of the Revised Code to create the Jesup W. Scott High School license plate.

H. B. No. 303 - Representatives Hall, Santucci. Cosponsors: Representatives Seitz, Lipps, Cross.

To enact section 4765.163 of the Revised Code to establish a process for the revision of training subjects for EMS personnel.

H. B. No. 304 - Representatives Hall, Miller, M. Cosponsors: Representatives Dobos, Lorenz.

To enact section 701.11 of the Revised Code to create the State and Municipal Government Commission.

H. B. No. 305 - Representatives Stewart, Brown. Cosponsors: Representatives Baker, Bird, Brewer, Claggett, Click, Dell'Aquila, Galonski, Grim, Gross, Isaacsohn, Jarrells, John, Kick, Klopfenstein, Lampton, LaRe, Lightbody, Lipps, McNally, Miller, A., Miller, J., Miranda, Mohamed, Plummer, Skindell, Somani, Upchurch, Weinstein, Williams, Willis, Young, T.

To amend sections 1901.261, 1907.261, 2303.081, and 2303.201 and to enact sections 1901.313 and 1907.202 of the Revised Code to provide for the electronic filing of pleadings or documents in courts of common pleas except a probate or juvenile court, in municipal courts, and in county courts, to permit the clerk to disburse funds for the computerization of the clerk's office without the court's authorization, and to permit municipal and county courts to increase the maximum amount of their additional fees from ten dollars to twenty dollars to cover the computerization of the clerk's office.

H. B. No. 306 - Representatives Hillyer, Barhorst.

To amend sections 1333.82, 4303.02, and 4303.022 of the Revised Code to revise the Alcohol Franchise Law and other provisions of the liquor control laws.

H. B. No. 307 - Representative Cutrona. Cosponsor: Representative Robb Blasdel.

To enact section 5534.921 of the Revised Code to designate a portion of State Route 7 in Mahoning County as the "Clarence "Sonny" Smith, Jr. Highway."

Said bills were considered the first time.

REPORTS OF STANDING AND SELECT COMMITTEES AND BILLS FOR SECOND CONSIDERATION

Representative Brown submitted the following report:

The standing committee on Criminal Justice to which was referred **H. B. No. 56**-Representatives Plummer, White, having had the same under consideration, reports it back as a substitute bill and recommends its passage.

RE: INCREASE PENALTY-FLEEING POLICE; REGARDS MOTOR VEHICLE PURSUIT

Representative Williams moved to amend the title as follows:

Add the names: "Williams, Miller, K."

CINDY ABRAMS RICHARD D. BROWN LATYNA M. HUMPHREY KEVIN D. MILLER PHIL PLUMMER CECIL THOMAS JOSH WILLIAMS BRETT HUDSON HILLYER JEFF LARE ISMAIL MOHAMED BILL SEITZ

The report was agreed to.

The bill was ordered to be engrossed and placed on the calendar.

Representative Brown submitted the following report:

The standing committee on Criminal Justice to which was referred **H. B. No. 161**-Representatives Miranda, Hillyer, et al., having had the same under consideration, reports it back and recommends its passage.

RE: ELIMINATE SPOUSAL EXCEPTIONS FOR CERTAIN SEX OFFENSES

CINDY ABRAMS RICHARD D. BROWN LATYNA M. HUMPHREY KEVIN D. MILLER PHIL PLUMMER CECIL THOMAS JOSH WILLIAMS BRETT HUDSON HILLYER JEFF LARE ISMAIL MOHAMED BILL SEITZ

The report was agreed to.

The bill was ordered to be engrossed and placed on the calendar.

Representative Brown submitted the following report:

The standing committee on Criminal Justice to which was referred **H. B. No. 139**-Representatives Roemer, Miller, J., et al., having had the same under consideration, reports it back and recommends its passage.

RE: INCREASE ASSAULT PENALTIES IF THE VICTIM IS A SPORTS OFFICIAL

Representative Williams moved to amend the title as follows:

Add the name: "Miller, K."

CINDY ABRAMS RICHARD D. BROWN JEFF LARE PHIL PLUMMER CECIL THOMAS JOSH WILLIAMS BRETT HUDSON HILLYER KEVIN D. MILLER BILL SEITZ

The report was agreed to.

The bill was ordered to be engrossed and placed on the calendar.

MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

Representative Miller, K. moved that the following resolution be read by title only and brought up for immediate adoption:

H. R. No. 294 - Representative Russo

Honoring Pierre Agostini on receiving the 2023 Nobel Prize in Physics.

The motion was agreed to.

The question being, "Shall the resolution be adopted?"

The resolution was adopted.

MESSAGE FROM THE SPEAKER

Pursuant to Section 610.90 (A)(2) of Am. Sub. H.B. No. 33 of the 135th General Assembly, the Speaker of the House hereby appoints the following members to the Study Commission on the Future of Gaming in Ohio:

Appoint Representatives Edwards (Co-Chair), Abrams and LaRe.

MESSAGE FROM THE SPEAKER

Pursuant to Section 757.60 of Am. Sub. H.B. No. 33 of the 135th General Assembly, the Speaker of the House hereby appoints the following members to the Joint Committee on Property Tax Review and Reform:

Appoint Representatives Roemer (Co-Chair), Young, T. and Richardson.

MESSAGE FROM THE SPEAKER

Pursuant to House Rules 13, 28, and 30, the Minority Leader hereby makes

the following changes to the Higher Education Committee, effective October 13, 2023:

Remove Representative Miranda; appoint Representative Weinstein.

MESSAGE FROM THE SPEAKER

Pursuant to Section 5540.02 (C) of the Ohio Revised Code, the Speaker of the House hereby appoints the following member to the Van Wert County Transportation Improvement District:

Appoint Representative Klopfenstein.

On motion of Representative Miller, K., the House adjourned until

Tuesday, October 24, 2023 at 9:00 o'clock a.m.

Attest:

ALI N. SAGRAVES, Assistant Clerk.