JOURNALS OF THE SENATE AND HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

OHIO SENATE JOURNAL

TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 14, 2023

THIRTEENTH DAY Senate Chamber, Columbus, Ohio **Tuesday, February 14, 2023, 9:30 a.m.**

The Senate met pursuant to adjournment.

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 3, the Clerk called the Senate to order.

Senator Landis was selected to preside according to the rule.

The journal of the last legislative day was read and approved.

INTRODUCTION AND FIRST CONSIDERATION OF BILLS

The following bills were introduced and considered for the first time:

S. B. No. 54 - Senators Reynolds, Sykes.

Cosponsors: Senators Hicks-Hudson, Brenner, Antonio, Craig, Smith, Romanchuk, Ingram, DeMora, Reineke.

To enact section 4112.33 of the Revised Code to establish the New African Immigrants Grant and Gift Fund in the state treasury.

S. B. No. 55 - Senator DeMora. Cosponsors: Senators Antonio, Craig, Smith, Hicks-Hudson, Sykes, Ingram.

To amend section 3501.01 of the Revised Code to require a presidential primary election to be held on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in May.

S. B. No. 56 - Senator Roegner.

To enact sections 4731.156 and 4731.157 of the Revised Code to enter into the Interstate Massage Compact (IMpact).

S. B. No. 57 - Senators Antonio, Manning. Cosponsors: Senators Craig, DeMora, Hicks-Hudson, Ingram, Sykes, Smith, Brenner, Gavarone, Reineke.

To enact section 5.2540 of the Revised Code to designate May as "Ohio Stroke Awareness Month."

S. B. No. 58 - Senators Johnson, Gavarone. Cosponsors: Senators Schaffer, Cirino, Brenner, O'Brien, Romanchuk, Hoagland.

To amend section 9.68 of the Revised Code to prohibit requiring fees or firearms liability insurance for the possession of firearms, or fees for the possession of knives.

OFFERING OF RESOLUTIONS

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 55, the following resolutions were offered:

94 SENATE JOURNAL, TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 14, 2023

S. R. No. 28 - Senator Kunze.

Cosponsors: Senators Craig, DeMora, Reynolds.

Honoring the Columbus Metropolitan Library on its One Hundred Fiftieth Anniversary.

S. R. No. 29 - Senator Reynolds.

Honoring Linden M. Young as the senior division winner of the 21st Annual Ohio MLK Oratorical Contest.

S. R. No. 30 - Senator Reynolds.

Honoring Jasmine Davis as the intermediate division winner of the 21st Annual Ohio MLK Oratorical Contest.

The question being, "Shall the resolutions listed under the President's prerogative be adopted?"

So the resolutions were adopted.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 3301.61(A)(6)(c) of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints Senator Terry Johnson to serve on the state council on educational opportunity for military children, Ohio Military Children's Compact Commission, for the 135th General Assembly.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 103.60 (C)(2)(a) of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints the following Senators to serve on the Rare Disease Advisory Council:

Senator Stephen A. Huffman Senator Catherine D. Ingram

Pursuant to Section 103.60 (C)(2)(b) of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints the following members of the public to serve on the Rare Disease Advisory Council:

Anne Clark (Cuyahoga County) Eileen Sullivan (Lucas County) Annie J. Ross-Womack (Franklin County)

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 3334.03(B)(1)(a) of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints the following senators to serve on the Ohio

Tuition Trust Authority Investment Board for the 135th General Assembly:

Senator Jerry Cirino Senator Vernon Sykes

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 904.02(A)(4) of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints Tyler Humphrey, of Allen County, to serve on the Ohio Livestock Care Standards Board for a three-year term commencing February 10, 2023 and ending on February 10, 2026.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 171.01(A) of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints the following senators to serve on the Ohio Retirement Study Council for the 135th General Assembly.

Senator Kirk Schuring Senator Louis W. Blessing, III Senator Paula Hickd-Hudson

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 113.56 (A)(3) of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints Andrew O. Brenner to the STABLE Account Program Advisory Board for the 135th General Assembly.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 3701.68(C)(1) and (D) of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints Senator Stephanie Kunze to serve as co-chair of the Commission on Infant Mortality for the 135th General Assembly.

Pursuant to Section 3701.68 (C)(14) of the Ohio Revised Code the President of the Senate reappoints Savannah Marten (Lucas County) to serve on the Commission on Infant Mortality for the 135th General Assembly commencing on the date of appointment and concluding on December 31, 2024.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 5105.34(A)(1)(b) of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints Senator Michele Reynolds to serve on the Ohio Commission on Fatherhood for the 135th General Assembly.

96 SENATE JOURNAL, TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 14, 2023

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 3701.612 (C)(13) of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints Senator Mark Romanchuk to serve on the Ohio Home Visiting Consortium for the 135th General Assembly.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 128.02 (A)(1)(c) of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints Senator Steve Wilson to serve on the Statewide Emergency Services Internet Protocol Network Steering Committee for the 135th General Assembly

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 103.65(A)(1) and 103.65(C) of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints the following members to serve on the Ohio Health Oversight and Advisory Committee for the 135th General Assembly:

Senator Terry Johnson (Chair) Senator Stephen A. Huffman

On the motion of Senator DeMora, the Senate adjourned until Thursday, February 16, 2023 at 9:30 a.m.

Attest:

VINCENT L. KEERAN, Clerk.