JOURNALS OF THE SENATE AND HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

OHIO SENATE JOURNAL

TUESDAY, APRIL 2, 2024

ONE HUNDRED THIRTY-SIXTH DAY Senate Chamber, Columbus, Ohio **Tuesday, April 2, 2024, 9:30 a.m.**

The Senate met pursuant to adjournment.

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 3, the Clerk called the Senate to order.

Senator Craig was selected to preside according to the rule.

The journal of the last legislative day was read and approved.

INTRODUCTION AND FIRST CONSIDERATION OF BILLS

The following bill was introduced and considered for the first time:

S. B. No. 239 - Senator O'Brien.

To enact section 5534.425 of the Revised Code to designate a portion of United States Route 422 in Trumbull County as the "Chief Radio Operator Walter Dawson Memorial Highway."

OFFERING OF RESOLUTIONS

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 55, the following resolutions were offered:

S. R. No. 319 - Senators Blessing, Ingram. Cosponsors: Senators Kunze, Brenner, Wilson, Wilkin, Lang, Antonio, Craig, DeMora, Smith, Sykes, Huffman, S., Johnson, Reineke, Manning, Gavarone, Schaffer, Landis, Huffman, M., Romanchuk, Hicks-Hudson, McColley. In memory of Brigid Kelly.

. . .

S. R. No. 320 - Senator McColley.

Honoring Brodie Dominique on securing a 2024 Division III State Wrestling Championship title.

S. R. No. 321 - Senator McColley.

Honoring Abe DeLano on securing a 2024 Division III State Wrestling Championship title.

S. R. No. 322 - Senator DeMora.

Honoring The Ohio State University pistol team on securing the 2024 Intercollegiate Pistol Championship.

S. R. No. 323 - Senator Antonio.

Honoring the St. Ignatius High School hockey team as the 2024 OHSAA State Champion.

S. R. No. 324 - Senator Cirino.

Honoring the Richmond Heights High School boys basketball team as the 2024 Division IV State Champion.

S. R. No. 325 - Senator Roegner.

Honoring Dylan Halm on being named a 2023 All-American in boys soccer.

S. R. No. 326 - Senator Manning.

Honoring Rejan Al-Hashash on winning a 2024 State Championship in girls wrestling.

S. R. No. 327 - Senator Manning. Honoring Michael Frye as a 2024 Division III State Wrestling Champion.

S. R. No. 328 - Senator Manning.

Honoring Brooke Jenkins on winning a 2024 Division III State Championship in girls wrestling.

S. R. No. 329 - Senator McColley.

Honoring Adam Mattin on winning a 2024 Division III State Wrestling Championship.

S. R. No. 330 - Senator Smith.

Honoring the Lutheran East High School boys basketball team on winning the 2024 Division III State Championship.

S. R. No. 331 - Senator DeMora. Honoring Jesse Mendez as a 2024 NCAA Division I Wrestling Champion.

S. R. No. 332 - Senator Landis.

Honoring the Cambridge Lions Club on its One Hundredth Anniversary.

The question being, "Shall the resolutions listed under the President's prerogative be adopted?" So the resolutions were adopted.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Rules No. 19 and 20, the President of the Senate removes Senator Niraj Antani and appoints Senator Louis W. Blessing, III to the Financial Institutions and Technology Committee for the remainder of the 135th General Assembly. On the motion of Senator DeMora, the Senate adjourned until Wednesday, April 3, 2024 at 9:30 a.m.

Attest:

VINCENT L. KEERAN, Clerk.