JOURNALS OF THE SENATE AND HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

OHIO SENATE JOURNAL

TUESDAY, JUNE 4, 2024

ONE HUNDRED FIFTY-FOURTH DAY Senate Chamber, Columbus, Ohio **Tuesday, June 4, 2024, 9:30 a.m.**

The Senate met pursuant to adjournment.

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 3, the Clerk called the Senate to order.

Senator Dolan was selected to preside according to the rule.

The journal of the last legislative day was read and approved.

INTRODUCTION AND FIRST CONSIDERATION OF BILLS

The following bills were introduced and considered for the first time: **S. B. No. 282 -** Senator Kunze

To enact section 5534.642 of the Revised Code to designate a portion of I-270 in Franklin County as the "PFC Henry 'Rick' Hausman, Jr. Memorial Highway."

S. B. No. 283 - Senator Schuring.

To amend sections 122.85, 5726.98, 5747.98, and 5751.98 and to repeal sections 122.852, 5726.59, 5747.67, and 5751.55 of the Revised Code to modify the film and theater production tax credit and to repeal the film and theater capital improvement tax credit.

S. B. No. 284 - Senators Rulli, Smith.

To enact sections 3320.05, 3320.06, 3320.07, 3333.80, 3333.801, and 4112.20 of the Revised Code to enact the Campus Accountability and Modernization to Protect University Students "CAMPUS" Act regarding the prevention of racial, religious, and ethnic bias, harassment, and intimidation at institutions of higher education, regarding antisemitism prevention policies at state agencies, to establish different campus safety and community programs, and to make appropriations.

S. B. No. 285 - Senator Wilkin.

To enact section 5534.703 of the Revised Code to designate a portion of State Route 554 in Gallia County as the "Pharmacist's Mate Third Class Willard L. Shupe Memorial Highway."

S. B. No. 286 - Senator Wilkin. Cosponsors: Senators Schaffer, DeMora, Reineke, Chavez, Rulli, Johnson. To enact sections 122.29, 122.291, 122.292, and 122.293 of the Revised Code to create the Ohio River Commission.

OFFERING OF RESOLUTIONS

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 55, the following resolutions were offered:

S. R. No. 377 - Senator McColley.

Honoring Abby Wilson as a 2024 USTA NTRP Tournament Champion.

S. R. No. 378 - Senator Johnson.

Honoring the University of Cincinnati-Clermont baseball team as the 2024 USCAA Small College National Champion.

The question being, "Shall the resolutions listed under the President's prerogative be adopted?"

So the resolutions were adopted.

COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE CLEVELAND STATE BOARD OF TRUSTEES GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE

APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE CENTER FOR CIVICS, CULTURE AND SOCIETY ACADEMIC COUNCIL

WHEREAS, House Bill 33 established, as an independent academic unit, a Center for Civics, Culture, and Society, at Cleveland State University; and

WHEREAS, the Center must conduct teaching and research in the historical ideas, traditions, and texts that have shaped the American constitutional order and society and will be housed in the Levin College of Public Affairs and Education; and

WHEREAS, the bill requires the establishment of an academic council be comprised of scholars with relevant expertise and experience; not more than one member of the council may be an employee of the university; and best efforts must

WHEREAS, in December 2023, the Board of Trustees considered and submitted seven candidates for the academic council to the Ohio Senate and in April 2024 the Board of Trustees considered and submitted two additional candidates; and

WHEREAS, in May 2024, the Board delegated authority to the Governance Committee to consider and approve additional candidates for the Center for Civics, Culture, and Society academic council: NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Governance Committee of the Cleveland State University Board of Trustees hereby appoints the following members to the Center for Civics, Culture, and Society academic Council

- George Dent
- Tiffany Barron

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Chairman of the Board will forward the following seven (7) names for approval as the Board's final candidates for the Center for Civics, Culture, and Society academic council to the Ohio Senate.

- Christina Bambrick (University of Notre Dame)
- David Forte (Cleveland State University, Professor Emeritus of Law)
- George Dent (Case Western Reserve University, Professor Law)
- Jerry Sue Thornton (Cuyahoga Community College, President Emerita)
- **Tiffany Barron** (University of Tennessee, Institute of American Civics)
- Ronald Berkman (Cleveland State University, President Emeritus)
- Dana Harsell (University of North Dakota)

COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE BELMONT COLLEGE BOARD OF TRUSTEES EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

RESOLUTION 2024-1

WHEREAS, HB 33 of the 135th General Assembly changed the process under ORC Section 3357.05 on how non-gubernatorial ("local") trustees are appointed to the Boards of Trustees for Ohio's technical colleges effective January 1, 2024. Under the new process, a trustee selection committee shall review and appoint trustees and the appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the Ohio Senate; and

WHEREAS, the Executive Committee of the college's board of trustees appointed three local business leaders as members of a selection committee, who in turn provided the recommendation of Dr. Mark Macri, Belmont County, Ohio, to the Executive Committee for nomination and election to the Board of Trustees for a term beginning April 19, 2024-April 18,2027, and

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Trustees of Belmont College hereby approves the appointment of Dr. Mark Macri to the Board of Trustees for a term beginning April 19, 2024-April 18, 2027, and directs the President of Belmont College to submit a copy of this resolution to the Ohio Senate.

COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE BELMONT COLLEGE BOARD OF TRUSTEES EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

RESOLUTION 2024-2

WHEREAS, HB 33 of the 135th General Assembly changed the process under ORC Section 3357.05 on how non-gubernatorial ("local") trustees are appointed to the Boards of Trustees for Ohio's technical colleges effective January 1, 2024. Under the new process, a trustee selection committee shall review and appoint trustees and the appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the Ohio Senate; and

WHEREAS, the Executive Committee of the college's board of trustees appointed three local business leaders as members of a selection committee, who in turn provided the recommendation of Mrs. Melissa Smithberger, Monroe County, Ohio, to the Executive Committee for nomination and election to the Board of Trustees for a term beginning April 19, 2024-April 18,2027, and

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Trustees of Belmont College hereby approves the appointment of Mrs. Melissa Smithberger to the Board of Trustees for a term beginning April 19, 2024-April 18, 2027, and directs the President of Belmont College to submit a copy of this resolution to the Ohio Senate.

Said appointments were referred to the committee on Rules and Reference.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 127.12 of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate removes Senator Jerry C. Cirino and temporarily appoints Senator Shane Wilkin to the Controlling Board for the purposes of the June 3, 2024 meeting.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 101.35 of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints Senator Vernon Sykes as a temporary replacement for Senator William P. DeMora on the Joint Committee on Agency Rules Review (JCARR), for the purpose of the committee's meeting on June 10, 2024.

On the motion of Senator Brenner, the Senate adjourned until Wednesday,

June 5, 2024 at 9:30 a.m.

Attest:

VINCENT L. KEERAN, Clerk.