JOURNALS OF THE SENATE AND HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

OHIO SENATE JOURNAL

TUESDAY, APRIL 9, 2024

ONE HUNDRED THIRTY-EIGHTH DAY Senate Chamber, Columbus, Ohio **Tuesday, April 9, 2024, 9:30 a.m.**

The Senate met pursuant to adjournment.

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 3, the Clerk called the Senate to order.

Senator Lang was selected to preside according to the rule.

The journal of the last legislative day was read and approved.

INTRODUCTION AND FIRST CONSIDERATION OF BILLS

The following bill was introduced and considered for the first time:

S. B. No. 240 - Senator Schaffer. Cosponsor: Senator Huffman, S.

To amend sections 5101.84 and 5101.98 and to enact sections 5101.042, 5101.543, 5101.546, 5101.548, 5101.95, and 5163.51 of the Revised Code to make various changes to public assistance benefits programs.

OFFERING OF RESOLUTIONS

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 55, the following resolutions were offered:

S. R. No. 334 - Senator Hackett.

Honoring the Beavercreek High School Air Force JROTC B-1 Bombers drill team on winning two 2024 Air Force JROTC Open Drill Nationals championships.

S. R. No. 335 - Senator DeMora.

Honoring The Ohio State University women's hockey team as the 2024 NCAA Champion.

S. R. No. 336 - Senator McColley.

Honoring Colin White as Ohio's Mr. Basketball for 2024.

S. R. No. 337 - Senator DeMora.

Honoring Michael Boyle on securing a 2024 Division II State Wrestling Championship title.

S. R. No. 338 - Senator Wilson, Ingram.

Honoring the Purcell Marian High School girls basketball team as the 2024 Division II State Champion.

The question being, "Shall the resolutions listed under the President's prerogative be adopted?" So the resolutions were adopted.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 127.12 of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate removes Senator Jerry C. Cirino and temporarily appoints Senator Shane Wilkin to the Controlling Board for the purposes of the April 15, 2024 meeting.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

According to the One Ohio Memorandum of Understanding entered into by Governor Mike DeWine and Attorney General Dave Yost on behalf of Ohio citizens, and pursuant to section (D)(4) of the One Ohio Memorandum of Understanding, the President of the Senate selects Senator Terry Johnson to serve as a board member on The Foundation created in section (D) of the One Ohio Memorandum of Understanding.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to House Concurrent Resolution No. 13, the President of the Senate appoints the following senators to serve on the committee to wait upon the Governor at the State of the State address on April 10, 2024 in the House Chamber of the Ohio Statehouse:

Senator Kirk Schuring Senator Rob McColley Senator Matt Dolan Senator Theresa Gavarone Senator Nickie J. Antonio Senator Hearcel F. Craig Senator Kent Smith Senator Catherine D. Ingram

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Rules No. 19 and 20, the President of the Senate temporarily removes Senator Michael A. Rulli and appoints Senator Andrew O. Brenner to serve on the Workforce and Higher Education Committee for the meeting on April 10, 2024.

On the motion of Senator Reineke, the Senate adjourned until Wednesday, April 10, 2024 at 11:30 a.m.

Attest:

VINCENT L. KEERAN, Clerk.