JOURNALS OF THE SENATE AND HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

# OHIO SENATE JOURNAL

THURSDAY, JUNE 20, 2024

# ONE HUNDRED SIXTIETH DAY Senate Chamber, Columbus, Ohio **Thursday, June 20, 2024, 9:30 a.m.**

The Senate met pursuant to adjournment.

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 3, the Clerk called the Senate to order.

Senator Craig was selected to preside according to the rule.

The journal of the last legislative day was read and approved.

## INTRODUCTION AND FIRST CONSIDERATION OF BILLS

The following bill was introduced and considered for the first time:

**S. B. No. 294** - Senator Lang. Cosponsors: Senators Chavez, Romanchuk.

To amend sections 4561.01 and 4561.11 of the Revised Code to incorporate seaplane bases, heliports, vertiports, and spaceports into the Aeronautics Law.

# **OFFERING OF RESOLUTIONS**

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 55, the following resolutions were offered:

S. R. No. 390 - Senator Brenner.

Honoring the Olentangy Liberty High School boys lacrosse team on securing the 2024 Division I State Championship.

## S. R. No. 391 - Senator Brenner.

Honoring the Olentangy Liberty High School girls lacrosse team on placing first at the 2024 OHSAA Division I State Championship.

## S. R. No. 392 - Senator Brenner.

Honoring the Hiland High School baseball team on winning the 2024 Division IV State Championship.

## S. R. No. 393 - Senator Manning.

Honoring Mateo Medina as a three-time 2024 Division I State track and field champion, an All-American, and a national runner-up.

## S. R. No. 394 - Senator Manning.

Honoring the Elyria High School boys track and field team as the 2024 Division I State Champion.

The question being, "Shall the resolutions listed under the President's prerogative be adopted?"

### 1616 SENATE JOURNAL, THURSDAY, JUNE 20, 2024

So the resolutions were adopted.

# **COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE GOVERNOR**

The President handed down the following messages from the Governor which were read by the Clerk:

# STATE OF OHIO EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR COLUMBUS

I, Mike DeWine, Governor of the State of Ohio, do hereby appoint, Paula M. O'Reilly, from Columbus, Franklin County, Ohio, as a Member of the Bowling Green State University Board of Trustees for a term beginning May 31, 2024 and ending at the close of business May 17, 2033, replacing David P. O'Brien, whose term expired.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto subscribed my name and caused the Great Seal of the State of Ohio to be affixed, at Columbus, this 31st day of May in the year of our Lord, Two Thousand and Twenty-Four.

[Seal]

Mike DeWine, Governor.

# STATE OF OHIO EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR COLUMBUS

I, Mike DeWine, Governor of the State of Ohio, do hereby appoint, Sterling A. Williams, from Warren, Trumbull County, Ohio, as a Member of the Youngstown State University Board of Trustees for a term beginning May 14, 2024 and ending at the close of business April 30, 2033, replacing Molly S. Seals, whose term expired.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto subscribed my name and caused the Great Seal of the State of Ohio to be affixed, at Columbus, this 31st day of May in the year of our Lord, Two Thousand and Twenty-Four.

[Seal]

Mike DeWine, Governor.

Said appointments were referred to the committee on Rules and Reference.

# COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE WRIGHT STATE UNIVERSITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES

# APPOINTMENT OF THE ACADEMIC COUNCIL FOR THE WRIGHT STATE UNIVERSITY CENTER FOR CIVICS, CULTURE, AND WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT

# **RESOLUTION 24-XX**

WHEREAS, Section 3352.16 of the Ohio Revised Code, adopted under Substitute House Bill 101 of the 135th General Assembly, established the Wright State University Center for Civics, Culture, and Workforce Development "the Center" as an independent academic division within the University reporting directly to the President; and

WHEREAS, the Center is directed to provide instruction on (1) the foundations of free societies; (2) the American Constitutional order, which includes the United States armed forces; (3) responsible and informed citizenship; (4) the purpose and role of Wright-Patterson Air Force Base; and (5) the workforce needs of the Base; and

WHEREAS, The Center at Wright State University has been granted special authority to waive out-of-state surcharges for military-connected students and recognizing military service for academic credit, furthering Wright State University's mission in being military-friendly campus; and

WHEREAS, the Center is to serve as a catalyst for dialogue and conversation among members of the campus community, placing a strong foundation for responsible and informed citizenship; and

WHEREAS, the Center is guided by a seven-person Academic Council appointed by the Board of Trustees with the advice and consent of the Ohio Senate; therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the Wright State University Board of Trustees appoints the following individuals to the Academic Council:

- Mr. Burhan Kawosa, Vice President, Finance, Planning, Analysis, Wright State University
- **Dr. Laura Luehrmann**, Chair, School of Social Sciences and International Studies, Wright State University
- Lt. General (Retired) Tom Owen, President CEO, a ZiaStar Consulting
- Mr. Mark Ridenour, Chair Elect, American Council of Trustees and Alumni
- Mr. Greg Sample, Executive Vice President Chief Operations Officer, Wright State University
- Mr. Rick Schwartz, Chairman of the Board, Winsupply

### 1618 SENATE JOURNAL, THURSDAY, JUNE 20, 2024

• The Honorable Adolfo Tornichio, Judge, Court of Common Pleas;

AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Secretary, or their designee, is authorized and directed to inform the Clerk of the Ohio Senate that this Resolution has been adopted and to request the advice and consent of the Ohio Senate, as required by law.

Said appointments were referred to the committee on Rules and Reference.

## **MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT**

Pursuant to Rules No. 19 and 20, the President of the Senate removes Senator Michael Rulli and appoints Senator Shane Wilkin as chairman of the Senate General Government Committee.

On the motion of Senator Wilson, the Senate adjourned until Monday, June 24, 2024 at 9:30 a.m.

Attest:

VINCENT L. KEERAN, Clerk.