JOURNALS OF THE SENATE AND HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

# OHIO SENATE JOURNAL

THURSDAY, AUGUST 22, 2024

## ONE HUNDRED SEVENTY-SIXTH DAY Senate Chamber, Columbus, Ohio **Thursday, August 22, 2024, 9:30 a.m.**

The Senate met pursuant to adjournment.

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 3, the Clerk called the Senate to order.

Senator Hackett was selected to preside according to the rule.

The journal of the last legislative day was read and approved.

#### **OFFERING OF RESOLUTIONS**

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 55, the following resolutions were offered:

S. R. No. 431 - Senator Hicks-Hudson.

Cosponsors: Senators Antani, Antonio, Blessing, Brenner, Chavez, Cirino, Craig, Cutrona, DeMora, Dolan, Gavarone, Hackett, Huffman, M., Huffman, S., Ingram, Johnson, Kunze, Landis, Lang, Manning, McColley, O'Brien, Reineke, Reynolds, Roegner, Romanchuk, Schaffer, Schuring, Smith, Sykes, Wilkin, Wilson.

In memory of Marigene Valiquette.

S. R. No. 432 - Senator O'Brien.

Honoring Plymouth Methodist Church on its One Hundred Fiftieth Anniversary.

S. R. No. 433 - Senator Huffman, M.

Honoring First Baptist Church of St. Paris on its Sesquicentennial.

The question being, "Shall the resolutions listed under the President's prerogative be adopted?"

So the resolutions were adopted.

## **MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT**

Pursuant to Section 107.12(D)(1)(d) of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints the following public member to serve on the Governor's Advisory Board of Faith-Based and Community Initiatives for a one-year term commencing on August 1, 2024 and ending on August 20, 2025.

William Kuehnle (Franklin County)

# COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE STARK STATE COLLEGE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

## RESOLUTION TO APPROVE THE REAPPOINTMENT OF STARK STATE COLLEGE BOARD OF TRUSTEE PATRICIA J. WACKERLY

WHEREAS, pursuant to the Ohio Revised Code Section 3357.05(2), the Stark State College Trustee Selection Committee met on July 25, 2024, to consider the reappointment of Trustee Patricia J. Wackerly of Stark County, Ohio, to the Stark State College Board of Trustees; and

WHEREAS, the Stark State College Board consists of nine members serving three-year terms. Three of the nine members are appointed by the Governor of Ohio, and six are appointed by the Trustee Selection Committee; and

WHEREAS, Trustee Patricia J. Wackerly began her term with the Stark State College Board of Trustees as a local appointee on August 2, 2020, and has been an active, engaged, valued and valuable Trustee; and

WHEREAS, Trustee Wackerly has extensive local business and industry experience and knowledge, as well as in-depth understanding of and appreciation for the College's education and workforce mission, making her a valuable member of the Board; and

WHEREAS, Trustee Wackerly desires to serve another three-year term on the Board, and the Board fully supports her serving another term;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, after consideration and discussion, the Stark State College Board of Trustees hereby approves of the Trustee Selection Committee's reappointment of Trustee Patricia J. Wackerly to serve another three-year term beginning on August 2, 2024 and expiring on August 1, 2027. Trustee Wackerly's reappointment is subject to the advice and consent of the Ohio Senate, under Ohio Revised Code Section 3357.05.

## COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE MARION TECHNICAL COLLEGE TRUSTEE SELECTION COMMITTEE

Marion Technical College Trustee Selection Committee Wednesday, May 22, 2024 Virtual

## **Roll Call**

Trustee Selection Committee members Mr. Ken Young, Mr. Rex Parrot, and Dr. Justin Hamper were present. Also present were Dr. Ryan McCall, President, and Ms. Laura Woughter, Chief of Staff. The Committee began its meeting at 4:07 p.m.

# **College Updates**

Dr. McCall provided some general College updates:

- The College's spring term enrollment was at a record high for headcount, exceeding 3,200 students.
- The College received its third National Science Foundation grant, and is a sub-awardee on a Department of Labor grant through Columbus State Community College.
- Marion Tech will be presenting at the Governor's trustee conference on collecting and analyzing graduate employment and wage data.

# **Board of Trustees Overview**

Ms. Woughter shared a current Board roster with the Committee, which included trustee names and their respective industries. The Board currently has two vacancies, one locally appointed position and one governor appointed position. Two local trustees are up for reappointment.

## **Statutory Authority**

Historically, technical college locally appointed trustees were appointed by a local education caucus, comprised of the presidents of the boards of education for city and exempted village school districts within the technical college district.

Established in the last state operating budget (H.B. 33) and implemented by Ohio Revised Code 3357.05, trustees appointed locally after January 1, 2024 will be selected by a trustee selection committee made up of three or five members. The committee members must not be sitting Board members and should be business, civic, or nonprofit leaders.

## **Appointment of Local Trustees**

For consideration by the Committee, locally appointed trustees must meet the following criteria:

- Hold leadership positions within significant industries in the College's service area, where possible.
- Reside within the College's service area.
- Serve three year terms.
- Must be approved by the Ohio Senate, which previously was a requirement for governor appointed trustees only.

The Board of Trustees may make recommendations for appointments for the Committee to consider, or the Committee may consider additional individuals for appointment.

#### **Request for Reappointments**

Two current trustees were requested for reappointment, to serve terms beginning May 1, 2024 through April 30, 2027:

- Kit Fogle Senior VP/Investments, Stifel.
- Vidya Iyengar President/CEO, Pillar Credit Union (retired).

Mr. Parrot made a motion to reappoint both trustees, and Mr. Young seconded the motion. By a unanimous vote, the Committee approved both reappointments.

#### Adjournment

The Committee adjourned at 4:18 p.m.

On the motion of Senator Reynolds, the Senate adjourned until Wednesday, August 28, 2024 at 9:30 a.m.

Attest:

VINCENT L. KEERAN, Clerk.