## The Honorable Jean Schmidt Chair, Health Committee

The Honorable Kellie Deeter The Honorable Anita Somani

Vice Chair, Heath Committee Ranking Member, Health Committee

The Honorable Rachel Baker The Honorable Tim Barhorst Member, Health Committee Member, Health Committee

The Honorable Karen Brownlee The Honorable Meredith Craig Member, Health Committee Member, Health Committee

The Honorable Michele Grim

The Honorable Jennifer Gross

Member, Health Committee

Member, Health Committee

The Honorable Angela King The Honorable Melanie Miller Member, Health Committee Member, Health Committee

The Honorable Brian Stewart The Honorable Andrea White Member, Health Committee Member, Health Committee

## Ohio House Bill 12 - OPPOSE

Dear Chair Schmidt, Vice Chair Deeter, Ranking Member Somani and members of the Health Committee:

On behalf of The Council of Ohio Colleges of Pharmacy (COCP), we are respectfully writing in strong opposition to House Bill (HB) 12, which will potentially place the safety of Ohio citizens at risk by undermining the role of the pharmacist.

The COCP represents the seven Ohio colleges and schools of pharmacy, including Cedarville University School of Pharmacy, Ohio Northern University Raabe College of Pharmacy, Northeast Ohio Medical University College of Pharmacy, The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy, University of Toledo College of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Cincinnati James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy, and University of Findlay College of Pharmacy. Collectively we graduate over 600 pharmacists per year that go on to provide patient care across the healthcare continuum with an estimated >50% of the graduates choosing to practice in Ohio. There is concern that graduating pharmacists would decide to leave the state of Ohio if this bill passes.

House Bill 12 poses a serious threat to the health and safety of Ohio's communities by undermining the essential role of pharmacists in our healthcare system. Pharmacists are

extensively trained and serve as a critical line of defense in patient care, applying their specialized knowledge and clinical expertise to ensure medications are used safely and effectively. Beyond dispensing prescriptions, pharmacists carefully review patients' medical histories, allergies, and possible drug interactions, which prevents serious and potentially life-threatening complications. HB 12 would strip pharmacists of the professional judgment crucial to their role, substituting this expertise with rigid requirements that compromise patient safety. By removing pharmacists' ability to apply their judgment, this bill directly endangers public health and wellbeing. Additionally, it inserts unnecessary state intervention into the practice of pharmacy, already comprehensively regulated by the State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy. This respected board has established systems that maintain the high standards necessary for safe, quality healthcare. HB 12 disrupts this well-established system, adding needless complexity and risk to an area of healthcare that functions effectively and responsibly without state overreach.

We urge you to take into consideration the potential repercussions of HB 12 on the safe and effective use of medication in our state and vote against this legislation.

If you have any questions or require additional information, please contact us through Dean Katherine Tromp at <a href="mailto:ktromp@neomed.edu">ktromp@neomed.edu</a> or 330-325-6456.

Sincerely,

Katherine M. Tromp, PharmD

Kallyo Tip

Dean, Northeast Ohio Medical University College of Pharmacy

## Co-signing Deans of the COCP

Deanna L. Kroetz, BSPharm, PhD Dean, The Ohio State University

Stuart Beatty, PharmD, MPAL Dean, Ohio Northern University Raabe College of Pharmacy

Christopher K. Surratt, Ph.D. Dean, University of Cincinnati James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy

Debra L. Parker, PharmD Dean, University of Findlay