OHIO SENATE JOURNAL

MONDAY, JANUARY 13, 2025

THIRD DAY

Senate Chamber, Columbus, Ohio Monday, January 13, 2025, 9:30 a.m.

The Senate met pursuant to adjournment.

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 3, the Clerk called the Senate to order.

Senator Brenner was selected to preside according to the rule.

The journal of the last legislative day was read and approved.

OFFERING OF RESOLUTIONS

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 55, the following resolutions were offered:

S. R. No. 4 - Senators Craig, McColley.

Cosponsors: Senators Antonio, Blackshear, Blessing, Brenner, Chavez, Cirino, Cutrona, DeMora, Gavarone, Hicks-Hudson, Huffman, Ingram, Johnson, Koehler, Landis, Lang, Liston, Manchester, Manning, O'Brien, Patton, Reineke, Reynolds, Roegner, Romanchuk, Schaffer, Smith, Weinstein, Wilkin. Wilson.

In memory of Ben Espy.

S. R. No. 5 - Senator McColley.

Cosponsors: Senators Antonio, Blackshear, Blessing, Brenner, Chavez, Cirino, Craig, Cutrona, DeMora, Gavarone, Hicks-Hudson, Huffman, Ingram, Johnson, Koehler, Landis, Lang, Liston, Manchester, Manning, O'Brien, Patton, Reineke, Reynolds, Roegner, Romanchuk, Schaffer, Smith, Weinstein, Wilkin, Wilson.

Honoring Phil Cummins for years of stalwart service to the Legislative Service Commission.

S. R. No. 6 - Senator Manning.

Honoring Tom Hamilton on receiving the 2025 National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum Ford C. Frick Award.

S. R. No. 7 - Senator Manning.

Honoring St. Peter Catholic Church on its Sesquicentennial.

The question being, "Shall the resolutions listed under the President's prerogative be adopted?"

So the resolutions were adopted.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Executive Order 95-124, the President of the Senate

recommends Senator Hearcel Craig to serve on the Ohio Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Commission.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 127.12 of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints the following senators to serve as members on the Controlling Board:

Senator Jerry Cirino Senator Shane Wilkin Senator Catherine Ingram

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 127.12 of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate temporarily appoints Senator Andrew Brenner to Controlling Board, as a substitute for Senator Jerry Cirino, for the purpose of the January 13, 2025 meeting.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Rules 19 and 20, the President of the Senate appoints the following senators to the following Senate standing committees for the 136th General Assembly:

Addiction and Community Revitalization - 7

Landis, Chair

Johnson, Vice Chair Blackshear, Ranking Minority Member

Cutrona Weinstein

Manning O'Brien

Agriculture and Natural Resources - 8

Schaffer, Chair

Koehler, Vice Chair Hicks-Hudson, Ranking Minority Member

Landis Liston

Manchester Reynolds Wilkin

Armed Services, Veterans Affairs and Public Safety - 6

Johnson, Chair

Wilson, Vice Chair Weinstein, Ranking Minority Member

Patton Craig

Schaffer

Education - 7

Brenner, Chair

Blessing, Vice Chair Ingram, Ranking Minority Member

Cutrona Smith

Huffman Koehler

Energy - 11

Chavez, Chair

Landis, Vice Chair Smith, Ranking Minority Member

Cirino DeMora Lang Weinstein

Manchester Reineke Schaffer Wilkin

Finance - 14

Cirino, Chair

Chavez, Vice Chair Hicks-Hudson, Ranking Minority Member

Blessing Craig
Brenner Ingram

Lang

Manchester Manning O'Brien Patton Romanchuk Wilkin

Financial Institutions, Insurance and Technology - 9

Wilson, Chair

Lang, Vice Chair Craig, Ranking Minority Member

Blessing DeMora Chavez Liston

Manning Patton

General Government - 6

Roegner, Chair

Gavarone, Vice Chair Blackshear, Ranking Minority Member

Huffman DeMora

Reineke

Government Oversight and Reform - 7

Manchester, Chair

Brenner, Vice Chair Weinstein, Ranking Minority Member

Johnson DeMora

Landis O'Brien

Health - 7

Huffman, Chair

Johnson, Vice Chair Liston, Ranking Minority Member

Manchester Ingram

Roegner Romanchuk

Higher Education - 6

Roegner, Chair

Cirino, Vice Chair Ingram, Ranking Minority Member

Koehler Weinstein

Reineke

Housing - 6

Reynolds, Chair

Brenner, Vice Chair Craig, Ranking Minority Member

Blackshear

Cirino Cutrona

Judiciary - 7

Manning, Chair

Reynolds, Vice Chair Hicks-Hudson, Ranking Minority Member

Blessing Smith

Cutrona Gavarone

Local Government - 7

O'Brien, Chair

Gavarone, Vice Chair Smith, Ranking Minority Member

Koehler Hicks-Hudson

Landis Wilkin

Medicaid - 6

Romanchuk, Chair

Huffman, Vice Chair Liston, Ranking Minority Member

Johnson Ingram

Wilson

Public Utilities - 11

Wilkin, Chair

Reineke, Vice Chair DeMora, Ranking Minority Member

Brenner Blackshear Chavez Smith

Gavarone Manchester Romanchuk Wilson

Rules and Reference - 13

McColley, Chair

Reineke, Vice Chair Antonio, Ranking Minority Member

Brenner Craig
Chavez Liston
Cirino Smith

Gavarone Lang Reynolds Schaffer

Small Business and Economic Opportunity - 7

Cutrona, Chair

Romanchuk, Vice Chair Craig, Ranking Minority Member

Gavarone Liston

Lang Reynolds

Transportation - 6

Patton, Chair

Schaffer, Vice Chair Antonio, Ranking Minority Member

Chavez Smith

Reineke

Ways and Means - 7

Blessing, Chair

Roegner, Vice Chair DeMora, Ranking Minority Member

O'Brien Liston

Schaffer Wilson

Workforce Development - 6

Koehler, Chair

Reynolds, Vice Chair Ingram, Ranking Minority Member

Huffman Blackshear

Lang

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 101.35 of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints the following senators to serve as members on the Joint Committee on Agency Rules Review:

Senator Theresa Gavarone, as Chair Senator Andrew O. Brenner Senator George Lang Senator Hearcel F. Craig Senator William DeMora

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Sections 103.41(B)(1) and 103.41(D) of the Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints the following members to the Joint Medicaid Oversight Committee:

Senator Mark Romanchuk, as Vice Chair Senator Stephen Huffman Senator Susan Manchester Senator Beth Liston, as Ranking Member Senator Catherine Ingram

On the motion of Senator Wilkin,	, the Senate adjourned until Wednesd	ay,
January 15, 2025 at 9:30 a.m.		

Attest: VINCENT L. KEERAN, Clerk.