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SUMMARY 

▪ Increases the homestead exemption for elderly or disabled homeowners and certain of 
their surviving spouses from $28,000 to $50,000 of the home’s appraised value or cost. 

▪ Expands eligibility for that homestead exemption by rising the income threshold one 
may have to qualify for the exemption, currently $40,000 in modified Ohio adjusted 
gross income, to $45,000. 

DETAILED ANALYSIS 

Homestead exemption 

The bill increases the amount of the homestead exemption for elderly homeowners or 
homeowners with a permanent and total disability and certain of their qualifying surviving 
spouses. The bill also expands eligibility for the homestead exemption by raising the income 
eligibility requirement above which a taxpayer may not claim the exemption. The increased 
exemption amount and income limitation are indexed to inflation like all other homestead 
exemption amounts and thresholds under continuing law. 

Homestead exemption: overview 

Continuing law provides a property tax credit for the residence, or “homestead,” of 
certain qualifying individuals. To qualify, an individual must be a homeowner who is 65 years of 
age or older, permanently and totally disabled, or at least 59 years old and the surviving spouse 
of an individual who previously received the exemption. Under current law, this “homestead 
exemption” equals the taxes that would be charged on up to $28,000 of the true value of a 
home owned by a qualified elderly or disabled homeowner. (“True value” is the appraised fair 
market value.) In other words, the homestead exemption essentially exempts $28,000 of the 
value of a homestead from taxation. The amount of the tax savings for a qualifying homestead 
depends on the local tax rate: the higher the tax rate, the greater the tax reduction. Under 
continuing law, special “enhanced” exemptions of $56,000 of a homestead’s value are available 
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for homes of military veterans who are totally disabled and for the homes of surviving spouses 
of public service officers killed in the line of duty. The amount of value exempted from taxation 
increases each year according to the extent of the increase of the GDP deflator − a broad 
measure of economic inflation. 

Exemption amount 

The bill increases the standard homestead exemption amount, currently $28,000, to up 
to $50,000 of the true value of a home owned by a qualified elderly or disabled homeowner. 
Under continuing law, the credit applies to manufactured and mobile homes as well, regardless 
of whether they are taxed as real property or taxed under the manufactured home tax (except 
that manufactured and mobile homes are assessed at 40% of cost or market value and are 
depreciated over time). This new threshold will continue to increase with inflation.1 

Income threshold 

Under continuing law, homeowners who first receive the elderly or disabled homestead 
exemption for tax year 2014 or later (or tax year 2015 for homeowners who pay the 
manufactured home tax) must have a modified Ohio adjusted gross income of below a certain 
income threshold, as computed for state income tax purposes (including all business income 
and excluding Social Security and disability benefits). The threshold was originally $30,000, but, 
like the exemption amount, the income threshold is indexed to inflation and increases annually 
– the 2024 threshold is $40,000. Homeowners who received the homestead exemption before 
2014 are not subject to this income limit, and no income limit applies to the enhanced 
exemptions. The bill raises the income eligibility requirement to $45,000 or less.2 

Application date 

The bill’s homestead exemption modifications apply beginning in tax year 2025 for real 
property and tax year 2026 for manufactured or mobile homes. (The difference accounts for 
the fact that property taxes are paid one year in arrears, while manufactured and mobile home 
taxes are paid in the current year.)3 
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1 R.C. 323.152(A)(1)(c) and 4503.065(A)(2)(b). 
2 R.C. 323.152(A)(1)(b) and 4503.065(A)(2)(a). 
3 Section 3. 


