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SUMMARY 

Vehicular homicide 

▪ Increases the fine for a vehicular homicide offense that involves a violation of the Move 
Over Law to up to $10,000, rather than a fine of up $750 or up to $1,000 (depending on 
the level of offense) as in current law. 

▪ Imposes a minimum one-year driver’s license suspension on an offender for a vehicular 
homicide offense that involves a violation of the Move Over Law, rather than a suspension 
of three months to two years (Class 6) or, if specified circumstances apply, a suspension 
of one to five years (Class 4). 

Vehicular assault 

▪ Creates a new vehicular assault offense by prohibiting causing serious physical harm to 
another person or another’s unborn as the proximate result of operating a vehicle in 
violation of the Move Over Law. 

▪ Specifies that a violation of the new offense is a first degree misdemeanor, except when 
specified circumstances apply, in which case it is a fourth degree misdemeanor. 

▪ In addition to other penalties that may apply to the offender, imposes: 

  A fine of up to $5,000 for the new offense; and 

 A Class 4 (one to five years) driver’s license suspension, or a Class 3 (two to ten years) 
driver’s license suspension under specified circumstances.  

Move Over Law 

▪ Alters the maximum fines that may be imposed for a violation of the Move Over Law. 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/136/hb132/documents
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Other provisions 

▪ Requires rules adopted by the Director of Public Safety pertaining to the required 
classroom or online driver education courses to include instruction on the requirements 
of the Move Over Law. 

▪ Requires the Department of Transportation to create a sign that describes the penalties 
for vehicular homicide and vehicular assault resulting from a violation of the Move Over 
Law. 

“Philip Wigal’s Law” 

▪ Names the bill “Philip Wigal’s Law.” 

DETAILED ANALYSIS 

Introduction 

Under Ohio’s Move Over Law, when a driver is approaching certain stationary motor 
vehicles, the driver must take one of the following actions:  

▪ Change lanes into a lane that is not adjacent to the stationary vehicle; or  

▪ If the driver is unable to change lanes because it is not possible or is unsafe, reduce the 
speed of the motor vehicle, proceed with due caution, and maintain a safe speed based 
on the road, weather, and traffic conditions. 

The Move Over Law applies to the following stationary vehicles: 

▪ Public safety vehicles;  

▪ Emergency vehicles; 

▪ Road service vehicles;  

▪ Waste collection vehicles;  

▪ Vehicles used by the public utilities commission to conduct motor vehicle inspections; and 

▪ Highway maintenance vehicles that are displaying the appropriate visual signals by means 
of flashing, oscillating, or rotating lights.1 

The bill establishes new requirements that apply when a driver fails to move over as 
required under current law. Specifically, the bill alters the penalties for a violation of the Move 
Over Law and for a vehicular homicide offense that involves that law. It also creates a new 
vehicular assault offense when the offense proximately results from a violation of the Move Over 
Law. Finally, it requires instruction regarding the Move Over Law as part of Ohio’s driver 

 

1 R.C. 4511.213. 
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education program, and it requires ODOT to produce and place signs informing drivers of the 
bill’s new penalties for a vehicular homicide and vehicular assault offense.  

Vehicular homicide 

The bill increases the maximum fine for a vehicular homicide offense that proximately 
results from a traffic offense if the traffic offense is a violation of the Move Over Law or a 
substantially equivalent municipal ordinance. Specifically, the fine is increased from $750 to 
$10,000 if the offense is a second degree misdemeanor, and from $1,000 to $10,000 if the 
offense is a first degree misdemeanor. An offense is a first degree misdemeanor if the offender’s 
driver’s license is suspended or cancelled at the time of the offense, the offender did not have a 
driver’s license at the time of the offense, or if the offender previously has been convicted of or 
pleaded guilty to a violation of a vehicular homicide offense or any traffic-related homicide, 
manslaughter, or assault offense.  

In addition to the increased fine, the bill requires a court to impose a mandatory minimum 
driver’s license suspension of one year on the offender. Under current law, the offender is 
generally subject to a minimum driver’s license suspension of three months up to a maximum of 
two years (Class 6 suspension). However, if the offender previously has been convicted of or 
pleaded guilty to a vehicular homicide offense, any traffic-related homicide, manslaughter, or 
assault offense, or a traffic-related murder, felonious assault, or attempted murder offense, the 
offender is subject to a driver’s license suspension of one to five years (Class 4 suspension).2  

Vehicular assault 

The bill creates a new vehicular assault offense that prohibits causing serious physical 
harm to another person or another’s unborn as the proximate result of operating a vehicle in 
violation of the Move Over Law. A violation of the new offense is generally a first degree 
misdemeanor. However, if, at the time of the offense, the offender was under a driver’s license 
suspension or if the offender has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to a violation of a prior 
vehicular assault offense or any traffic-related homicide, manslaughter, or assault offense, a 
violation of the offense is a fourth degree felony.  

Regardless of the level of the offense, the bill imposes a fine of up to $5,000 on an 
offender. Under current law, the general fine for a first degree misdemeanor is up to $1,000, and 
the fine for a fourth degree felony is up to $5,000.3 Thus, if an offender commits the new offense 
and it is a first degree misdemeanor, the offender is potentially subject to a higher fine than 
otherwise would apply.   

The bill also imposes a Class 4 driver’s license suspension (one to five years) on the 
offender. This suspension increases to a Class 3 suspension (two to ten years) if the offender has 
previously been convicted of or pleaded guilty of a vehicular assault offense, any traffic-related 

 

2 R.C. 2903.06(D)(2) and (3). 
3 Under current law, the general fine for a first degree misdemeanor is up to $1,000, and the fine for a 
fourth degree felony is up to $5,000. R.C. 2929.18 and 2929.28, not in the bill. 
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homicide, manslaughter, or assault offense, or any traffic-related murder, felonious assault, or 
attempted murder offense.4  

Under current law, vehicular assault can only occur as the proximate result of an OVI 
(operating while impaired) offense, a reckless operation offense, or a speeding offense in a 
construction zone. Unlike vehicular homicide, a serious physical injury caused by a violation of a 
general traffic law (other than speeding) is not a vehicular assault offense.  

Move Over Law 

The bill alters the fines for a violation of the Move Over Law. Under current law, the fines 
are based on the number of predicate motor vehicle offenses within the prior year. Under the 
bill, the fines are based on the number of prior violations of the Move Over Law that have 
occurred within the prior year. The changes made by the bill are reflected in the table below.5  

Fines under current law Fines under H.B. 132 

Up to $300 for an offender with no prior 
predicate motor vehicle offense* within 
the prior year 

Up to $300 for an offender with no prior 
Move Over Law offense within the prior 
year 

Up to $500 for an offender with one prior 
predicate motor vehicle offense within the 
prior year 

Up to $1,000 for an offender with one 
prior Move Over Law offense within the 
prior year 

Up to $1,000 for an offender with two or 
more prior predicate motor vehicle 
offenses within the prior year 

Up to $1,000 for an offender with two or 
more prior Move Over Law offenses 
within the prior year 

* A “predicate motor vehicle offense” is a violation of any listed traffic offense (see R.C. 4511.01). Examples of predicate motor 
vehicle offenses include failure to obey a traffic control signal (R.C. 4511.12), the speeding law (4511.21), and illegally passing on the right 
(R.C. 4511.29).   

Other provisions 

The bill requires rules adopted by the Director of Public Safety pertaining to the required 
classroom or online driver education courses to include instruction on the requirements of the 
Move Over Law.6 Additionally, the bill requires the Department of Transportation (ODOT) to 
include a sign in ODOT’s Manual for a Uniform System of Traffic Control Devices that describes 
the penalties for both vehicular homicide and vehicular assault involving a violation of the Move 
Over Law. The signs must be placed in appropriate locations as determined by the Director of 
ODOT.7 

 

4 R.C. 2903.08(A)(4) and (C). 
5 R.C. 4511.213. 
6 R.C. 4508.02(C). 
7 R.C. 5501.28. 
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“Philip Wigal’s Law” 

The bill is named “Philip Wigal’s Law.”8 
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8 Section 3. 


