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Highlights 

▪ The bill may result in the generation of additional fine revenue to be retained by counties 
and municipalities or forwarded to the state treasury for deposit into the Security, 
Investigations, and Policing Fund (Fund 8400), as applicable. 

▪ The Ohio Department of Transportation (ODOT) will incur additional costs to design and 
place signs that describe the penalties for vehicular homicide and vehicular assault. The 
total cost of creating and placing these signs will depend on the number of signs that need 
to be placed and the final design of this sign type. 

Detailed Analysis 

The bill increases certain penalties for violations of the state’s existing Move Over Law 
(i.e., failure to slow down or change lanes when approaching specified stationary vehicles), as 
well as the penalties for vehicular homicide and vehicular assault that result from a Move Over 
Law violation. Additionally, the bill requires instruction regarding the Move Over Law as part of 
Ohio’s driver education program and requires the Ohio Department of Transportation (ODOT) to 
produce and place signs informing drivers of the bill’s new penalties. 

Enforcement and adjudication 

The bill is not expected to increase the number of traffic citations issued by law 
enforcement or generate additional cases for local courts to adjudicate but it may change how 
certain cases are charged and may increase, likely minimally, the amount of time and resources 
that local criminal justice systems expend to dispose of certain cases involving violations of the 
Move Over Law.  

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/136/hb132/documents
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Penalties 

The bill’s penalty increases generally impact the amount of the financial penalty that can 
be imposed for certain violations of vehicular homicide, vehicular assault, and violations of the 
Move Over Law. However, the bill may also minimally increase the number of vehicular assault 
cases and related sanctions if an offender is convicted of vehicular assault that was the proximate 
cause of a Move Over Law violation instead of a lesser offense under existing law. The possible 
term of incarceration imposed for violations of vehicular homicide, vehicular assault, and the 
Move Over Law remain unchanged under the bill.  

The impact of the bill’s changes to the penalties for vehicular homicide, vehicular assault, 
and the Move Over Law are summarized below.  

Vehicular homicide. The bill increases the maximum fine for vehicular homicide from up 
to $750 (or up to $1,000, based on offense level), to not more than $10,000 regardless of offense 
level if the vehicular homicide was the proximate result of a Move Over Law violation. This means 
counties, municipalities, and the state could receive up to $9,250 more in fine revenue for certain 
vehicular homicide convictions under the bill than they could under current law. According to 
Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) conviction data, from CY 2020 through CY 2024, vehicular 
homicide convictions averaged just over 100 per year. The number of vehicular homicides that 
were the proximate result of a Move Over Law violation is indeterminate, but likely a small 
subset.  

Vehicular assault. The bill creates a new vehicular assault offense by prohibiting causing 
serious physical harm to another person or another’s unborn as the proximate result of operating 
a vehicle in violation of the Move Over Law. This new offense is unlikely to result in many additional 
cases for local criminal justice systems to adjudicate and sanction, as a person who causes serious 
physical injury to another person using a motor vehicle could already be charged under existing 
law. However, to the extent that the bill creates new cases, some offenders may be sentenced to 
a lengthier possible term of incarceration and a higher fine than what may have otherwise been 
imposed under existing law. This may result in increased sanctioning costs; however, those costs 
are not expected to exceed minimal annually for the state or any given local authority.  

Table 1 below shows the possible fines and incarceration terms for vehicular assault, 
which is generally a first degree misdemeanor that elevates to a fourth degree felony based on 
the circumstances present. As seen in the table, under the bill, vehicular assault that is the 
proximate result of a Move Over Law violation is subject to a fine of up to $5,000 regardless of 
offense level.  

 

Table 1. Fines and Incarceration Terms for Vehicular Assault  

Offense Level 
Fine Amount 

Term of Incarceration 
Current Law  H.B. 132 

Misdemeanor 1st degree Up to $1,000 Up to $5,000 Jail, not more than 180 days 

Felony 4th degree Up to $5,000 Up to $5,000 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 
or 18 months definite prison term 
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Move Over Law. The bill increases the fine imposed for violations of the Move Over Law by 
$500 if an offender has had one prior violation of that law within the previous year. Thus, 
counties, municipalities, and the state could receive up to $500 more in fine revenue for each 
such violation under the bill than they could under current law. According to BMV conviction 
data, from CY 2020 through CY 2024, there was an average of more than 3,400 convictions for 
violations of the Move Over Law per year. The number of those offenders who had one prior 
violation within the past year is indeterminate but presumably a smaller subset.  

Fine revenue distribution 

By increasing the penalties associated with certain violations of the Move Over Law, the 
bill may generate additional fine revenue, the magnitude of which will vary by jurisdiction based 
on the number of convictions within each jurisdiction for which the bill’s increased penalties 
apply. Table 2 below summarizes the distribution of the bill’s increased fine revenue by offense 
based on current rules of distribution which are unchanged by the bill.  

 

Table 2. Distribution of Fine Revenue  

Type of Offense H.B. 132 Fine Amount  Recipient of Amount 

Vehicular homicide Not more than $10,000 ▪ Retained by county if violation of state law 

▪ Retained by municipality if violation of local 
ordinance 

▪ Forwarded for deposit into the state Security, 
Investigations, and Policing Fund (Fund 8400) if 
violator is cited by the Ohio State Highway Patrol 

Vehicular assault Not more than $5,000 

Move Over Law 
violation 

Not more than $300 or 
not more than $1,000, 
based on prior offenses 

 

License suspensions 

The bill’s vehicular homicide and vehicular assault license suspension provisions are 
generally not expected to impact the number of suspensions imposed1 but may increase the 
amount of time for which certain licenses are suspended. This may shift when certain licenses 
are ultimately reinstated, and when reinstatement fee revenue is received but is otherwise not 
expected to significantly impact the BMV’s license suspension or reinstatement duties.  

Department of Public Safety 

The bill requires rules adopted by the Ohio Department of Public Safety (ODPS), which 
licenses and regulates driving schools, to include instruction on the requirements of the Move Over 
Law as part of driver education courses. As a result, ODPS may incur minimal additional costs to 
modify its existing rules and to then ensure that existing approved providers are in compliance. 
Ongoing compliance monitoring would presumably occur during regular ODPS inspections. Driver 
education course providers, to the extent that they are not already doing so, may also incur 
additional costs to modify their programs to comply with the bill’s Move Over Law requirement. 

 

1 LBO assumes that a person who causes serious physical harm to another using a motor vehicle would 
have their driver’s license suspended under existing law. 
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Department of Transportation 

The bill requires ODOT to include a sign that describes the penalties for vehicular 
homicide and vehicular assault in the state’s Manual for a Uniform System of Traffic Control 
Devices (MUTCD). Additionally, the bill requires ODOT to place these signs in areas that it deems 
appropriate. The total cost of creating and placing these signs will depend on the number of signs 
that need to be placed and the final design of this sign type. As an upfront cost, the sign type will 
need to be designed, approved, and added to the Ohio MUTCD, costing $45 per hour in employee 
wages and fringe benefits. The fabrication of each sign costs $11.50 per square foot. As a 
reference, memorial highway signs are typically 15 square feet, totaling $172.50. Each sign gets 
affixed to two u-channel posts that cost $4.72 per square foot. For comparison, highway 
memorial sign posts are 13.5 feet long, totaling $127.30 for both. After fabrication, the sign will 
need to be installed. Personal costs for site investigation, checking utilities, and installation cost 
$45 per hour in employee wages and fringe benefits. The preparation and installation of 
memorial highway signs was estimated by ODOT to take roughly six hours. 
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