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Highlights

®  The bill requires earned wage access (EWA) service providers to register with the Division
of Financial Institutions. It also requires EWA applicants to provide an annual
nonrefundable application fee of $300, along with a $200 base investigation fee to run
background checks on key officers of the EWA service provider.

®  The fees would be deposited into the Consumer Finance Fund (Fund 5530), which will be
used to cover the expenses of operating the EWA registration program.

Detailed Analysis
Overview

The bill requires any company providing earned wage access (EWA) services to obtain a
certificate of registration from the Division of Financial Institutions within the Department of
Commerce (COM). EWA services allow employees to tap wages earned during a pay period
before pay day arrives. Generally, there are two EWA business models, either employer-
sponsored services or direct-to-consumer offerings. There are several fintech firms providing
these services to employers and employees in this marketplace.

The bill establishes the process by which EWA businesses apply for registration, including
investigations and background checks of company officers, and related fees. Overall, the Division
of Financial Institutions will incur new costs for overseeing EWA services under the requirements
in the bill. These costs would be paid from the Consumer Finance Fund (Fund 5530) and would,
in all likelihood, be offset by the application and investigation fees established in the bill.
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Registration procedures

The bill requires a company registering as an EWA service provider to submit a written
application, along with a nonrefundable registration fee of $300. Registrations renew annually
and are subject to a fee of $300. If this fee is not sufficient to cover the estimated cost of
administering the program, the bill allows the Superintendent of Financial Institutions to assess
an additional fee on each registrant. However, the increase may not exceed 10¢ for each $100 of
fees, tips, gratuities, and donations received by a registrant in the previous calendar year. The
additional assessment must not be less than $250 or more than $2,000 per registrant.

In addition to the S300 registration fee, the bill also requires the applicant to pay a
nonrefundable $200 investigation fee for running civil and criminal records checks on the key
officers of an EWA service provider. If the Division needs to investigate outside of Ohio, and it
appears that the actual expenses of the investigation will exceed $200, the Division may ask that
the applicant cover that expense. However, the Division must provide an itemized statement of
costs exceeding $200.

If the Division denies an application for registration, the bill requires it to send notice,
including an explanation of the denial and notice of the applicant’s ability to appeal under the
Administrative Procedure Act. The Division could incur some administrative costs to conduct any
such hearings under the bill, although it would appear any such hearings would be infrequent.

Finally, the bill provides registration reciprocity for companies that hold a license or
registration to offer EWA services in other states, as long as the companies pay all applicable fees
and assessments due in Ohio. Seven states (Arkansas, Nevada, Missouri, Wisconsin, Kansas,
South Carolina, and Utah) have adopted state oversight laws applying to the EWA provider
industry that require EWA providers to register with or obtain licensure to operate. Several states
do not recognize EWA services as a financial product. Instead, these states regulate EWA service
providers and products in the same fashion as they do consumer loan offerings.

Enforcement and penalties

The bill allows the Superintendent of Financial Institutions or the Deputy Superintendent
of Consumer Finance to investigate any company or individual for violations of the bill or of any
rule or order promulgated under the bill. Ultimately, this could lead to the Division filing actions
in the Court of Common Pleas of Franklin County or other appropriate court of common pleas to
obtain an injunction, temporary restraining order, or other relief against any company or
individual violating provisions of the bill. Although it is not certain how many investigations would
lead to court actions, any impact on the courts of common pleas would probably be minimal. Any
costs the Division of Financial Institutions incurs for investigating potential violations, including
deposition costs, would be paid from Fund 5530.

Preemption

Finally, the bill prohibits the state or any political subdivision from requiring an EWA
provider to pay any fee or assessment, other than those expressly authorized by the bill, as a
condition of providing EWA services.
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