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SUMMARY 

▪ Exempts, from regulation as a public utility by the Public Utilities Commission (PUCO) 
both of the following: 

 A person, business, or other entity that, either on its own behalf or under a contract 
with a property owner, provides, constructs, or installs for customers behind-the-
meter utility service; 

 Billing service for the resale of natural gas or water service to a tenant based on 
metered consumption that is delivered at a point after natural gas or water service is 
delivered to the public utility’s metered point of delivery. 

▪ Defines “behind-the-meter utility service” to be (1) service or benefit from an advanced 
energy resource, (2) electric service, (3) billing service for a service or benefit from an 
advanced energy resource or for electric service, (4) electric vehicle charging, and 
(5) resale of electricity to a tenant’s dwelling unit by a landlord or the landlord’s agent 
that is based on metered consumption. 

▪ Prohibits, except for reasons of safety or reliability: 

 A public utility (a PUCO-regulated electric light, natural gas, or water-works 
company) from setting the location of, or refusing to relocate, its meters so that 
their location prevents a behind-the-meter utility service provider from providing, 
constructing, or installing behind-the-meter utility service, or prevents a billing 
service from providing natural gas or water resale billing service based on metered 
consumption, at a point after public utility service is delivered at that metered point 
of delivery. 

 PUCO from adopting any rule allowing such a public utility to locate, or refuse to 
relocate, its meters as described in the prohibition above. 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA136-SB-108
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▪ Prohibits a behind-the-meter utility service provider that resells electricity to a tenant 
based on metered consumption at the tenant’s dwelling unit from charging the tenant 
more than the applicable residential customer standard service offer and riders. 

▪ Allows PUCO to adopt rules meeting certain conditions requiring the biennial 
registration of some or all types of behind-the-meter utility service providers in Ohio, 
and charging a registration fee of not more than $200. 

▪ Requires a behind-the-meter utility service provider to be registered with PUCO if such 
registration is required in order to provide service in Ohio. 

▪ Authorizes PUCO to require certain disclosures from behind-the-meter utility service 
providers that resell electricity to a tenant based on metered consumption for the 
tenant’s dwelling unit. 

▪ Establishes a process for any person, firm, corporation, or PUCO to file a written 
complaint against a behind-the-meter utility service provider for violating or failing to 
comply with the bill. 

▪ Imposes a forfeiture of not more than $100 for each violation of the bill not cured in a 
timely manner and that is to be collected by the Attorney General when directed by 
PUCO. 

DETAILED ANALYSIS 

Summary 

The bill exempts entities providing (1) behind-the-meter utility service and (2) billing 
services for the resale of natural gas or water service in certain instances from being classified 
as a “public utility” subject to Public Utilities Commission (PUCO) jurisdiction. The bill also 
limits, except for reasons of safety or reliability, a PUCO-regulated public utility’s ability to use 
the location of its meters to prevent behind-the-meter utility service or such billing services. 

The bill also includes various other provisions specifically applicable to behind-the-meter 
utility service providers: a prohibition against certain providers from charging more than the 
applicable standard service offer (SSO); allowing PUCO to require the registration of certain 
providers and to establish a fee; allowing PUCO to require certain disclosures; and establishing 
a complaint process and forfeiture for compliance failure. 

Exemption from being a public utility 

Ohio law describing the general powers of PUCO specifies what entities are “public 
utilities” subject to PUCO regulation and what entities are not public utilities and thus not 
subject to PUCO regulation. A person, business, or other entity that is not a public utility is 
exempt from PUCO regulation, including, for example, the utility ratemaking law and hearing 
procedures under the utility law. The bill exempts both of the following from being a public 
utility: 
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▪ A person, business, or other entity that, either on its own behalf or under contract with 
a property owner, provides, constructs, or installs for customers behind-the-meter 
utility service. 

▪ Billing service for the resale of natural gas or water service to a tenant’s dwelling unit by 
a landlord or the landlord’s agent that is based on metered consumption and that is 
delivered at a point after natural gas or water service is delivered to the public utility’s 
metered point of delivery for that service at that location. 

Definitions 

As used in the bill: 

▪ “Advanced energy resources” means: (1) any method, or any modification or 
replacement of any property, process, device, structure, or equipment, that increases an 
electric generating facility’s generation output to the extent it is achieved without 
additional carbon dioxide emissions, (2) any distributed generation system consisting of 
customer cogeneration technology, (3) clean coal technology, (4) advanced nuclear 
technology or improvements to existing facilities, (5) any fuel cell used in the generation 
of electricity, (6) advanced solid waste or construction and demolition debris conversion 
technology, (7) demand-side management and any energy efficiency improvement, 
(8) any new, retrofitted, refueled, or repowered generating facility in Ohio, including a 
simple or combined-cycle natural gas generating facility or a generating facility that uses 
biomass, coal, modular nuclear, or any other fuel as its input, and (9) any uprated 
capacity of an existing electric generating facility if it results from the deployment of 
advanced technology. 

▪ “Behind-the-meter utility service” is any of the following, if provided, constructed, or 
installed at a point after services provided by a public utility are delivered to the public 
utility’s metered points of delivery at the customers’ location: (1) service or benefit from 
an advanced energy resource, (2) electric service, (3) billing service for advanced energy 
resource service or benefit and electric service, (4) electric vehicle (EV) charging, and 
(5) resale of electricity to a tenant’s dwelling unit by a landlord or the landlord’s agent 
that is based on metered consumption. 

▪ “Dwelling unit” means a structure or the part of a structure that is used as a home, 
residence, or sleeping place by one person who maintains a household or by two or 
more persons who maintain a common household. 

▪ “Landlord” means the owner, lessor, or sublessor of residential premises, the agent of 
the owner, lessor, or sublessor, or any person authorized by the owner, lessor, or 
sublessor to manage the premises or to receive rent from a tenant under a rental 
agreement. 
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▪ “Tenant” means a person entitled under a rental agreement to the use and occupancy 
of residential premises to the exclusion of others.1 

Construction/installation of behind-the-meter utility service 

It appears that the bill allows a person, business, or other entity to construct or install 
any behind-the-meter utility service at a point after service provided by a public utility is 
delivered to the public utility’s metered points of delivery. This may include construction or 
installation of, for example, an electric generating or distribution facility or a facility using an 
advanced energy resource, such as a distributed generation system or clean coal technology. 
Such facilities, if located after the metered location, would not be public utilities and therefore 
would be exempt from PUCO regulation.2 

Net metering 

The bill does not address net metering, which PUCO regulates under current 
competitive retail electric service (CRES) law. However, since a net metering system is a facility 
to produce electrical energy that is located on a customer-generator’s premises, which would 
be after the electric utility’s metered point of delivery, it is possible that net metering could be 
considered a behind-the-meter utility service that is exempt from PUCO regulation. If exempt 
from PUCO regulation, existing law requiring an electric utility to develop a standard contract or 
tariff for net metering might conflict with the bill’s scheme. Also, PUCO administrative rules for 
net metering in Ohio Administrative Code Chapter 4901:1-10-28 might no longer apply.3 

Public utility meter location prohibition 

Except for reasons of safety or reliability, the bill prohibits a public utility (meaning a 
PUCO-regulated electric light company, natural gas company, or water-works company) from 
setting the location of, or refusing to relocate, any of its meters so that the meter’s location 
prevents either of the following: 

▪ A behind-the-meter utility service provider from providing, constructing, or installing 
behind-the-meter utility service at a point after the public utility service is delivered to 
the utility’s metered point of delivery at that location; 

▪ A natural gas or water service resale billing service for a tenant that is based on metered 
consumption from providing the billing service at a point after the service is delivered to 
the utility’s metered point of delivery for that service at that location. 

Additionally, except for reasons of safety or reliability, PUCO is prohibited from adopting 
any rule that permits a public utility to set the location of, or refuse to relocate, any of its 

 

1 R.C. 4928.01(A)(34) and 5321.01, not in the bill. 
2 R.C. 4905.02; R.C. 4905.03 and 4905.04, not in the bill. 
3 R.C. 4928.01 and 4928.67, not in the bill. 
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meters so that the meter’s location prevents behind-the-meter utility service or natural gas or 
water service resale billing service as described above. 

The bill defines “behind-the-meter utility service provider” as a person, business, or 
other entity that, either on its own behalf or under a contract with a property owner, provides, 
constructs, or installs for customers behind-the-meter utility service.4 

Behind-the-meter utility service regulation 

Behind-the-meter electricity resale charge limit 

The bill prohibits a behind-the-meter utility service provider that resells electricity to a 
tenant based on metered consumption at the tenant’s dwelling unit from charging the tenant 
more than the bill for the SSO and all riders that the electric light company in whose certified 
territory the dwelling unit is located would charge its residential customers for electric service. 

Continuing law requires each electric distribution utility to provide consumers within its 
certified territory an SSO of all competitive retail electric services necessary to maintain 
essential electric service, including a firm supply of electric generation service. The SSO can be 
established as either a market rate offer or electric security plan, and may include various other 
customer charges, which are commonly referred to as “riders.” 

The bill uses the current law definition of “electric light company,” which is an entity 
that is engaged in the business of supplying electricity for light, heat, or power purposes to 
consumers in Ohio, including supplying electric transmission service for electricity delivered to 
consumers in Ohio, but excluding a regional transmission organization approved by the federal 
energy regulatory commission. However, this definition is not limited to only electric light 
companies regulated by PUCO, meaning that it may include entities such as a municipal electric 
utility, electric cooperative, and a nonprofit public utility. But, since this provision prohibits 
charging a tenant more than would be charged under the SSO and only an “electric distribution 
utility” (meaning, under continuing law, a for-profit electric light company with a certified 
territory that supplies at least retail electric distribution service) is required to develop an SSO, 
it may be that the term as used in the bill does not apply to municipal electric light companies, 
electric cooperatives, or nonprofit electric light companies. An amendment could clarify to 
what entities this section applies.5 

Behind-the-meter utility service provider registration 

PUCO may require registration 

The bill allows PUCO to adopt rules requiring the biennial registration of some or all 
types of behind-the-meter utility service providers in Ohio. The registration process must 
require the behind-the-meter utility service provider to disclose the provider’s name, business 

 

4 R.C. 4933.51 and 4933.52. 
5 R.C. 4905.02(A) and 4933.54; R.C. 4928.01(A)(6) and (11), 4905.03(C), and 4928.141 to 4928.143, not 
in the bill. 
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address, phone number, regulatory contact, and the type of services offered by the provider, 
and include other PUCO-prescribed disclosure requirements. The rules establishing registration 
requirements, including any requirements regarding classifications, procedures, terms, and 
conditions, must be reasonable and not confer any undue economic, competitive, or market 
advantage or preference on any electric light company, behind-the-meter utility service 
provider, or CRES provider. 

If PUCO requires registration, no behind-the-meter utility service provider can provide a 
behind-the-meter utility service to an Ohio consumer without first being registered.6 

Registration fee 

PUCO is permitted to charge behind-the-meter utility service providers a registration 
processing fee of not more than $200 per biennial registration.7 

Disclosures for certain behind-the-meter utility service providers 

If PUCO establishes a behind-the-meter utility service provider registration process and 
requirements, then PUCO can require a provider that resells electricity to a tenant based on 
metered consumption for the tenant’s dwelling unit to do the following: 

▪ Provide a separate disclosure to its tenants and reporting of pricing solely for purposes 
of compliance with the resale of electricity pricing requirement discussed above (see 
“Behind-the-meter electricity resale charge limit”). 

▪ Disclosure of its process and procedures for the disconnection of electric service.8 

Written complaint to PUCO 

Any person, firm, or corporation, or PUCO on its own initiative, may file a written 
complaint against any behind-the-meter utility service provider for a failure to comply with, or 
a violation of, the bill’s behind-the-meter utility service provider PUCO registration 
requirements or the resale of electricity pricing requirement. 

If it appears that reasonable grounds for complaint are stated, PUCO must provide 
notice of probable noncompliance to the behind-the-meter utility service provider and grant 
the provider 60 days to cure the noncompliance. If the provider does not timely cure the 
noncompliance, PUCO may open an investigation of the provider’s compliance with the 
registration or pricing requirements. The parties to a complaint investigation are entitled to be 
heard, represented by counsel, and to have a process to enforce the attendance of witnesses.9 

 

6 R.C. 4933.56(A) and (B) and 4933.57. 
7 R.C. 4933.56(C). 
8 R.C. 4933.59. 
9 R.C. 4933.60. 
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Forfeiture for noncompliance  

Any behind-the-meter utility service provider that violates or fails to comply with the 
registration requirements or resale of electricity pricing requirement is liable to the state for a 
forfeiture of not more than $100 for each violation or compliance failure unless the violation or 
failure is cured within 60 days after receipt of the required reasonable notice and opportunity 
for a hearing (discussed next) provided before PUCO issues a forfeiture assessment. 

PUCO, after providing reasonable notice and the opportunity for a hearing, must issue 
an order assessing a forfeiture on a behind-the-meter utility service provider whom PUCO 
determines, by a preponderance of the evidence, committed the violation or failed to comply. 
Forfeitures are to be recovered by action prosecuted by the Attorney General, when directed 
by PUCO, in the name of the state and may be brought in the court of common pleas of any 
county where the provider who committed the violation or failed to comply is located. All 
forfeitures are cumulative, and an action for recovery of one does not bar the recovery of 
another. 

Forfeitures collected must be credited to the General Revenue Fund. 

It is unclear how the forfeiture cure period functions under the bill. After providing 
reasonable notice and hearing regarding the forfeiture, PUCO may assess the forfeiture if it 
determines there was a violation or failure to comply. There is no express timing requirement 
linking the forfeiture cure period and when PUCO may determine a violation or failure to 
comply. Presumably, the violation or failure is determined before the forfeiture is assessed. If 
that is so, the bill may be providing a separate hearing for the forfeiture that is at least 60 days 
after PUCO’s violation or failure determination. An amendment to the bill might clarify this 
timing issue.10 

Regulatory restriction reduction exemption 

The bill exempts rules adopted by PUCO to implement the behind-the-meter utility 
service regulation provisions in the bill from the regulatory restriction limitation in current law. 
That limitation prohibits state agencies, including PUCO, from adopting a new regulatory 
restriction unless the agency simultaneously removes two or more existing regulatory 
restrictions, until June 30, 2025. State agencies are also required to achieve a 30% total 
regulatory restriction reduction by June 30, 2025. Regulatory restrictions are state agency rules 
that include words such as “shall,” “require,” and “prohibit.”11 

 

10 R.C. 4933.63. 
11 R.C. 4933.56(D); R.C. 121.95 to 121.953, not in the bill. 
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