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SUMMARY 

▪ Prohibits, beginning 90 days after the bill’s effective date, the Director of Commerce from 
issuing or renewing state licenses authorizing an employer to pay an employee with a 
mental or physical disability or injury at a wage lower than Ohio’s minimum wage (a 
subminimum wage). 

▪ Prohibits, beginning 90 days after the bill’s effective date, an employer from paying 
subminimum wages to an employee with a disability unless, on the date that is 90 days 
after the bill’s effective date, the employer (1) employs the employee and (2) holds a state 
license authorizing the payment of subminimum wages. 

▪ Prohibits, beginning five years after the bill’s effective date, all employers from paying 
subminimum wages to employees with disabilities. 

▪ Requires, not later than 15 months after the bill’s effective date, each employer holding 
a state license or federal 14(c) certificate authorizing the payment of subminimum wages 
to submit to the Director of Developmental Disabilities a transition plan that addresses 
phasing out subminimum wages and supporting employees with disabilities. 

▪ Requires the Director and the Executive Director of the Opportunities for Ohioans with 
Disabilities Agency to assist employers with phasing out subminimum wages, gather 
information regarding the phase out, and solicit assistance in carrying out the Director’s 
duties under the bill from various interested parties. 

▪ Requires specified state agencies that employ or provide employment services to 
individuals with disabilities to coordinate to ensure state resources contribute toward the 
competitive, integrated employment of individuals with disabilities and to share 
information regarding phasing out subminimum wages. 

▪ Requires the Employment First Task Force to review the employer transition plans, 
support individuals with developmental disabilities in seeking competitive employment, 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/136/hb225/documents
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ensure developmental disability services that align with national models are available, 
and identify opportunities for improving health outcomes for these individuals. 

▪ Requires each political subdivision that provides employment services to individuals with 
developmental disabilities to implement a policy that complies with Ohio’s policy 
regarding community employment for these individuals and ensure the policy is followed 
whenever employment services are provided to them. 

▪ Authorizes a nonrefundable tax credit against the income tax or commercial activity tax 
(CAT) for purchases made from certain nonprofit organizations that employ individuals 
with physical or intellectual disabilities. 

DETAILED ANALYSIS 

Minimum wage for employees with disabilities 

The bill enacts the Ohio Employment First and Greater Opportunities for Persons with 
Disabilities Act.1 It phases out an employer’s ability to pay an employee whose earning capacity 
is impaired by a physical or mental disability or injury at a wage lower than Ohio’s minimum wage 
(a subminimum wage). Ultimately, beginning five years after the bill’s effective date, no employer 
may pay a subminimum wage. The Minimum Wage Amendment to the Ohio Constitution2 and 
Ohio’s Minimum Fair Wage Standards (MFWS) Law3 prescribe the minimum wages an employer 
must pay its employees, including employees with disabilities. The Ohio Constitution authorizes 
the issuance of licenses to employers permitting them to pay less than Ohio’s minimum wage to 
employees with disabilities (a state license). Pursuant to Ohio’s MFWS Law, the Director of 
Commerce has adopted rules regarding the issuance of these state licenses. Although the Ohio 
Constitution authorizes the issuance of these licenses, it allows the General Assembly to pass 
laws setting a higher minimum wage rate.4 

Phase out 

The bill, beginning 90 days after its effective date, prohibits the Director from issuing or 
renewing any state licenses. Beginning the same date, an employer cannot pay a subminimum 
wage unless, on the date that is 90 days after the bill’s effective date, the employer: 

▪ Employs an employee with a physical or mental disability or injury; and 

▪ Holds an unexpired state license. 

 

1 Section 3. 
2 Ohio Constitution, Article II, Section 34a. 

3 R.C. Chapter 4111. 

4 Ohio Const., art. II, sec. 34a and R.C. 4111.06 and 4111.14(C). See also Ohio Administrative Code 
Chapter 4101:9-1. 
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The bill extends the validity of an unexpired state license for the time period that ends 
five years after the bill’s effective date, and an employer meeting the two criteria above may pay 
subminimum wages during that time period.5 

Prohibition 

Beginning five years after the bill’s effective date, the bill prohibits all employers from 
paying subminimum wages.6 Thus, on and after that date, an employer must pay an employee 
with a disability at least Ohio’s minimum wage. For 2025, Ohio’s minimum wage is $10.70 per 
hour for nontipped employees and $5.35 per hour for tipped employees.7 

Continuing law prohibits an employer from paying or agreeing to pay wages at a rate 
lower than the rates applicable under Ohio’s MFWS Law. Whoever violates that prohibition is 
guilty of a third degree misdemeanor.8 

Interaction with federal law 

With some exceptions, the federal Fair Labor Standards Act9 (FLSA) requires an employer 
subject to the FLSA to pay an employee the federal minimum wage of at least $7.25 per hour. 
One exception is that an employer may pay an employee with a disability at a rate below the 
federal minimum wage under certain conditions. To do so, an employer must hold a special 
certificate issued by the U.S. Department of Labor (known as a “14(c) certificate” and referred to 
as a “federal certificate” in the bill). 

An employer may be subject to the FLSA, Ohio’s MFWS Law, or both. The FLSA requires 
an employer subject to both laws to comply with the law that establishes a higher minimum 
wage. According to U.S. Department of Labor guidance, an employer must do so even if the 
employer holds a 14(c) certificate.10 Ohio currently has the higher minimum wage.11 

Employer transition plans 

Not later than 15 months after the bill’s effective date, the bill requires each employer 
that holds a state license or 14(c) certificate authorizing the payment of subminimum wages to 

 

5 R.C. 4111.06(C) and (D). 
6 R.C. 4111.06(E). 
7 R.C. 4111.06, with conforming changes in R.C. 4111.14. See R.C. 4111.02, not in the bill, and 2025 
Minimum Wage (PDF), which may be accessed by conducting a keyword “minimum wage poster” search 
on the Ohio Department of Commerce’s website: com.ohio.gov. 
8 R.C. 4111.13 and 4111.99, not in the bill. 
9 29 United States Code (U.S.C.) 201 et seq. 
10 29 U.S.C. 206, 214(c), and 218, 29 Code of Federal Regulations 525.20, and Administrator’s 
Interpretation No. 2016-2 (PDF), which may be accessed by conducting a keyword “Administrator’s 
Interpretation No. 2016-2” search on the U.S. Department of Labor website: dol.gov. 
11 See 2025 Minimum Wage (PDF). 

https://dam.assets.ohio.gov/image/upload/com.ohio.gov/DICO/WageAndHour/DICO_2025_MW_Poster.pdf
https://dam.assets.ohio.gov/image/upload/com.ohio.gov/DICO/WageAndHour/DICO_2025_MW_Poster.pdf
https://com.ohio.gov/home
https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/legacy/files/FLSAAI2016_2.pdf
https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/legacy/files/FLSAAI2016_2.pdf
https://www.dol.gov/
https://dam.assets.ohio.gov/image/upload/com.ohio.gov/DICO/WageAndHour/DICO_2025_MW_Poster.pdf
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submit to the Director of Developmental Disabilities a transition plan that addresses how the 
employer intends to: 

▪ Phase out subminimum wages by five years after the bill’s effective date; and 

▪ Support individuals with disabilities in pursuing competitive, integrated employment.12 

Phase out assistance 

Assisting employers 

The bill requires the Director of Developmental Disabilities, in consultation with the 
Executive Director of the Opportunities for Ohioans with Disabilities Agency (OOD), to assist 
employers with phasing out subminimum wages and to: 

▪ Identify and develop protections to ensure competitive, integrated employment for 
employees with disabilities while phasing out subminimum wages; 

▪ Identify and collaborate with employees, employers, organizations, agencies, and 
stakeholders impacted by the subminimum wage phase out to assist them with 
implementing employer transition plans and creating sustainable, competitive 
employment; 

▪ Collect data on employers that hold state licenses or 14(c) certificates for five years after 
the bill’s effective date; 

▪ Propose a plan to establish and evaluate benchmarks for measuring progress with respect 
to implementing the transition plans each year until subminimum wages are eliminated; 

▪ Propose a plan to monitor and track the outcomes of employees with disabilities; 

▪ Identify initiatives, investments, training, and services designed to improve wages, reduce 
unemployment rates, and provide support and sustainable work opportunities for 
individuals with disabilities; 

▪ Identify and make recommendations for sustainable support, funding, and resources to 
assist individuals with disabilities with respect to phasing out subminimum wages, such 
as financing for the cost to implement and provide employment services, training, and 
support; and 

▪ Ensure the employer transition plans protect the rights of individuals with disabilities 
under the federal Americans with Disabilities Act of 199013 and Ohio’s Civil Rights Law.14 

 

12 R.C. 4111.061(B). 
13 42 U.S.C. 12111, et seq. 
14 R.C. 4111.061(C), by reference to R.C. Chapter 4112. 
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Reports 

By January 1 that first occurs after the bill’s effective date, and annually by January 1 until 
five years after the bill’s effective date, the Director must submit to the Governor and General 
Assembly a report that includes all of the information described above relating to assisting 
employers.15 

Requesting assistance 

The Director, in consultation with the OOD Executive Director, must solicit assistance 
from all of the following in carrying out the Director’s duties under the bill: 

▪ The Employment First Task Force; 

▪ Stakeholders who have expertise regarding the employment of individuals with 
disabilities, at least 20% of whom must be individuals with disabilities; 

▪ Family members of individuals with disabilities; 

▪ Organizations that advocate on behalf of individuals with disabilities; 

▪ Providers of services to individuals with disabilities; 

▪ Local governments; 

▪ Business associations.16 

State agency duties 

The bill requires cabinet level departments and other specified state agencies that employ 
or provide employment services to individuals with disabilities to: 

▪ Coordinate and collaborate with each other to ensure that state programs, policies, 
procedures, and funding contribute toward the competitive, integrated employment of 
individuals with disabilities; and 

▪ Share nonconfidential data and other information with each other to track progress with 
respect to phasing out subminimum wages. 

These requirements apply to the state departments and agencies listed below:17 

State departments and agencies subject to the bill 

Office of Budget 
and Management 

Department of 
Commerce 

Department of 
Administrative 
Services 

Department of 
Transportation 

Department of 
Agriculture 

 

15 R.C. 4111.061(D). 
16 R.C. 4111.061(E), by reference to R.C. 5123.023. 
17 R.C. 4111.061(A) and (F), by reference to R.C. 121.01, not in the bill. 
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State departments and agencies subject to the bill 

Department of 
Natural Resources 

Department of 
Health 

Department of Job 
and Family 
Services 

Department of 
Children and 
Youth 

Department of 
Public Safety 

Department of 
Mental Health and 
Addiction Services 

Department of 
Developmental 
Disabilities 

Department of 
Insurance 

Department of 
Development 

Department of 
Youth Services 

Department of 
Rehabilitation and 
Correction 

Environmental 
Protection Agency 

Department of 
Aging 

Department of 
Veterans Services 

Department of 
Medicaid 

Department of 
Education and 
Workforce 

Bureau of 
Workers’ 
Compensation 

Department of 
Higher Education 

Department of 
Taxation 

Ohio Public 
Utilities 
Commission 

Political subdivision compliance with Ohio policy 

The bill requires each political subdivision that provides employment services to 
individuals with developmental disabilities to: 

▪ Implement a policy that complies with Ohio’s policy that employment services for 
individuals with developmental disabilities be directed at community employment 
(competitive employment that takes place in an integrated setting); and 

▪ Ensure the policy is followed whenever employment services are provided to individuals 
with developmental disabilities. 

Under continuing law, “competitive employment” is work in the competitive labor market 
in which payment is at least the minimum wage but not less than the customary wage and 
benefits paid for the same or similar work performed by individuals without a disability. 
“Integrated setting” is a community setting where individuals with developmental disabilities 
interact with individuals without disabilities to the same extent that individuals in comparable 
positions without a disability interact with other individuals.18 

Employment First Task Force 

Duties 

The bill includes additional duties for the Employment First Task Force. The Task Force’s 
purpose under continuing law is to improve coordination of the state’s efforts to address the 
needs of individuals with developmental disabilities who seek community employment. The bill 
requires the Task Force to: 

 

18 R.C. 5123.022. 
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▪ Review the employer transition plans and develop long-term strategies to assist 
employers in phasing out subminimum wages; 

▪ Review and develop recommendations to transition individuals with developmental 
disabilities from subminimum wages and to support them in seeking competitive 
employment; 

▪ Work with interagency partners to ensure developmental disability services that align 
with national models are available for individuals with developmental disabilities; and 

▪ Use data available to the Department of Developmental Disabilities to identify 
opportunities for improving health outcomes for individuals with developmental 
disabilities.19 

Reports 

By March 1 immediately after the bill’s effective date, and by March 1 of each 
even-numbered year after that, the Task Force, in consultation with the Department, must 
submit to the General Assembly a report that includes: 

▪ Information regarding the outcomes, best practices, and challenges with respect to 
individuals with developmental disabilities; 

▪ Information regarding opportunities to support individuals with developmental 
disabilities; and 

▪ Legislative recommendations for creating a better system of care for individuals with 
developmental disabilities.20 

Patients and residents of hospitals and institutions 

The bill eliminates the ability of a hospital for individuals with mental illnesses and an 
institution for individuals with intellectual disabilities to pay subminimum wages to a patient or 
resident who volunteers to work. Thus, under the bill a patient or resident must be paid at a rate 
based on the value of the work performed, having reference to the prevailing wage rate for 
comparable work.21  

Tax credit for purchases from qualifying employers 

The bill authorizes a tax credit for purchases made from nonprofit organizations that 
employ individuals with physical or intellectual disabilities. Businesses and individuals that 
purchase goods and services from such organizations can claim the credit against the income tax 
or commercial activity tax (CAT). The credit equals 15% of the cost of such purchases. 

 

19 R.C. 5123.023. 
20 R.C. 5123.023. 
21 R.C. 5122.28 and 5123.87. 
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Purchase requirements 

To qualify for the credit, a taxpayer must purchase goods or services from a 501(c)(3) 
nonprofit corporation that has been certified as a qualified vendor. An organization can receive 
that certification if: 

1. At least 20% of the organization’s employees are individuals with physical or 
intellectual disabilities that cause a substantial barrier to employment, as determined 
by a health care provider or a federal or state agency. 

2. The organization employs those individuals in an “integrated setting” – i.e., a work 
setting in which employees with disabilities have an equal opportunity to interact with 
employees without disabilities.  

3. The organization provides health insurance for those employees, either by (a) offering 
an employer-sponsored health plan, (b) paying 75% of the employee’s premiums for 
individual insurance, (c) paying the Affordable Care Act (ACA) employer shared 
responsibility payment for employees who purchase insurance through a state 
exchange, or, (d) if the employer is not subject to the ACA, covering at least 75% of 
the employee’s health insurance costs through a health savings account (HSA) or 
similar method. 

A nonprofit corporation may apply to OOD to be certified as a qualified vendor. 
If certified, an organization must also notify OOD if it no longer qualifies. OOD may revoke a 
certification if it receives that notice or otherwise determines that an organization no longer 
meets the requirements of a qualified vendor.22  

Credit amount  

The credit equals 15% of the price of purchases made from a certified qualified vendor, 
subject to two limitations. First, OOD cannot issue more than $8 million of credits per year, i.e., 
$53.3 million in eligible purchases overall. Second, not more than $500,000 of credits can be 
issued per year for purchases from any single vendor, i.e., $3.3 million in eligible purchases from 
a vendor. 

The price upon which the credit is calculated is the same price basis upon which sales 
taxes are calculated. The credit is nonrefundable, which means that it can only reduce a 
taxpayer’s liability to zero. However, if the credit does exceed a taxpayer’s liability, the taxpayer 
can carry forward any excess credit for up to four years.23 

Application procedure 

To receive the tax credit, a taxpayer must apply to OOD between January 1 to 21 after the 
year in which the purchases are made. In the application, the taxpayer must state whether it 
intends to claim the credit against the CAT or the income tax. 

 

22 R.C. 3304.45(A) and (D). 
23 R.C. 3304.45(B) and (C), 5747.87, 5747.98, 5751.56, and 5751.98. 
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OOD will review applications on a first-come, first-served basis. If OOD approves an 
application, it will issue a tax credit certificate to the applicant stating the amount of the credit 
allowed and the tax against which it can be claimed.24 

Annual report 

The bill requires OOD to issue an annual report to the General Assembly about the tax 
credit program. The report must include the number of tax credit certificates issued during the 
preceding year, the amount of credits awarded, and any other information OOD considers 
pertinent.25  
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24 R.C. 3304.45(B). 
25 R.C. 3304.45(E). 


