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Highlights

The bill appropriates $25 million in each of FY 2026 and FY 2027 to the Department of
Education and Workforce to support (1) grants for the purchase of new safety features
on school buses and (2) public awareness initiatives regarding school bus safety laws. The
appropriation is supported by cash transfers of the same amounts from the GRF to the
newly created School Bus Safety Fund (Fund 5BZ1), which will also receive fines collected
for failing to stop for a stopped school bus.

The bill is not expected to have a discernible effect on the caseloads and related annual
operating costs of local criminal justice systems with jurisdiction over traffic law
violations, but may result in a decrease in fine revenue that would otherwise have been
credited to a county’s treasury and used for the maintenance and repair of the highways
within that county.

The Ohio Department of Public Safety will incur minimal costs to: (1) draft and adopt rules
relating to the construction and design of school bus camera equipment, (2) comply with
the bill’s graphic display requirement and creation of additional educational information
for deputy registrar locations, and (3) establish a school bus safety course.

Detailed Analysis
The bill (1) appropriates $25 million in each of FY 2026 and FY 2027 for school bus safety

initiatives, supported by a cash transfer of the same amount from the GRF to the newly created
School Bus Safety Fund, (2) enhances penalties for failing to stop for a stopped school bus,
(3) permits an image or video of a person who illegally passes a stopped school bus to be used as
corroborating evidence that a violation occurred, and (4) places additional duties on the Ohio
Department of Public Safety (ODPS) related to the adoption of administrative rules, creation of
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educational materials, and school bus safety course development. Additional details are provided
below.

School Bus Safety Fund

The bill appropriates $25 million in each of FY 2026 and FY 2027 to provide school bus
safety grants to school districts and educational service centers (ESCs) and to educate the public
on school bus safety. The Department of Education and Workforce (DEW) will administer the
funds, which are appropriated in line item 2006A6, School Bus Safety, from the newly created
School Bus Safety Fund (Fund 5BZ1). To capitalize the fund, the bill transfers $25 million cash
each fiscal year from the GRF to Fund 5BZ1. The fund will also consist of revenue from fines for
failing to stop for a stopped school bus, as described below.

The bill’s school bus safety grants are available to school districts and ESCs to purchase,
install, or replace safety features on school buses. The bill provides discretion to DEW in
establishing procedures and requirements associated with the grants, including grant amounts.
Grantees must spend the funds within two years of receiving them. The bill allows DEW to use
up to $100,000 of the appropriation in each fiscal year to administer the grant program. The bill
reappropriates the available balance of item 2006A6 at the end of FY 2026 for the same purpose
in FY 2027.

Failing to stop for a stopped school bus

The bill increases the base penalties for failing to stop for a stopped school bus and
establishes new penalties for certain repeat offenders. The following table compares those
penalties. Under continuing law, failing to stop for a stopped school bus is an unclassified
misdemeanor and the bill specifies that the offender is not subject to a jail term or community
residential sanction. In calendar year 2024, the Ohio State Highway Patrol (OSHP) reported a total
of 933 criminal violations of illegally passing a school bus statewide.! For calendar years 2020
through 2024, that number totaled 3,282 and averaged 656 violations per year. It should be
noted however, that OSHP generally enforces traffic laws along state-maintained roadways
(e.g., highways and state routes). Statewide local law enforcement statistics are incomplete, but
likely minimal per jurisdiction compared to overall traffic offenses. The number of those citations
that involved repeat offenders is uncertain.

Failing to Stop for a Stopped School Bus

H.B. 3 Penalties

Type of Penalty Existing Law
First Offense Subsequent Offense*
Points Assessed 2 2 4
Fine Up to $500 ‘ $250 to $1,000 ‘ $350 to $2,000

! These statistics were obtained from the Ohio State Highway Patrol’s Statistical Analysis Unit and
represent all of the Patrol’s enforcement incidents involving R.C.4511.75 and do not represent
convictions.
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Failing to Stop for a Stopped School Bus
H.B. 3 Penalties

Type of Penalty Existing Law
m Subsequent Offense*

Class 7 Class 6 Class 5
(up to one year) (3 months to 2 years) | (6 months to 3 years)

License Suspension

*Applies to a subsequent offense when the offender had a violation within a five-year period.

By explicitly allowing images captured by school bus cameras to be used as evidence in
these cases, it is possible that geographical areas covered by those school districts that have
installed or, as a result of the bill, choose to install cameras on school buses may experience an
indeterminate increase in convictions for stopped school bus violations. Thus, those geographical
areas may also experience a related increase in fine revenue and the number of license
suspensions imposed.

Local criminal justice systems

By permitting images captured by school bus cameras of those illegally passing a stopped
school bus to be used to corroborate a school bus operator report of a violation, the bill could
generate additional cases for municipal, county, and mayor’s courts to adjudicate and sanction
or make some existing cases easier to prosecute. Unlike certain other traffic offenses that can be
settled without a court appearance, continuing law specifies that a person cited for failing to stop
for a stopped school bus must appear in court to answer the charge.? If the bill generates
additional cases due to the availability of evidence provided by cameras, local courts with
jurisdiction over state traffic law violations would have to expend additional time and resources
to dispose of those cases, the magnitude of which will vary by court depending on the number
of violations reported and adjudicated.

Fine and fee revenue
Criminal fines

The bill diverts fine revenue that is currently collected and retained by courts for failing
to stop for a stopped school bus and redirects it to the bill’s School Bus Safety Fund. As a result,
courts would lose up to $500 in criminal penalty fine revenue for each failure to stop for a
stopped school bus violation adjudicated that would otherwise have been paid into the county
treasury where the violation occurred and used for the maintenance and repair of highways
within that county.? As seen in the above table, the School Bus Safety Fund may collect $250 to
$2,000 in fine revenue from certain offenders convicted under the bill. The amount of fine
revenue foregone by any given court and credited to the School Bus Safety Fund will depend on
the number of failing to stop for a stopped school bus convictions and whether or not the
offender had a prior conviction.

2 R.C. 4511.75(F)(1).
3R.C. 4513.35.
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License reinstatement fees

Under continuing law, a court-ordered license suspension that is 90 days or longer is subject
to a $S40 reinstatement fee. All failing to stop for a stopped school bus license suspensions imposed
under the bill will be subject to the $40 fee when it may not have applied under existing law. As a
result, ODPS may experience a no more than minimal gain in annual license reinstatement fee
revenue. Reinstatement fee revenue is credited to the Public Safety — Highway Purposes Fund
(Fund 5TMO0) and used in part to support the Bureau of Motor Vehicles’ (BMV) operations.

School bus safety course

The bill requires an offender who has pleaded guilty to or been convicted of a failing to
stop for a stopped school bus violation within a five-year period to attend and successfully
complete a school bus safety course established by ODPS. For a first-time offender, the bill
permits a court to impose a lesser fine of $150 and waive the assessment of points that would
otherwise be assessed against the offender for failing to stop for a stopped school bus if the
offender successfully completes the school bus safety course within a specified time frame. This
may generate additional administrative work for certain clerks of court by having to verify that
an offender has successfully completed the school bus safety course and reduce to some degree
the amount of fine revenue credited to the School Bus Safety Fund for violations. The magnitude
of any impact will vary by court and will depend on the number of first-time offenders charged
with failing to stop for a stopped school bus, as well as the number of those offenders that
successfully complete the course.

The costs to ODPS to establish the course is likely to be minimal.

Administrative rules, educational materials and course
development

The bill may result in additional one-time costs for ODPS and to a lesser extent DEW (who
serves in a consultative role only), to adopt rules related to the construction and design of school
bus camera equipment used to capture violations of illegally passing a stopped school bus. ODPS
will also incur one-time costs to develop a graphic that instructs drivers to stop and yield to a
stopped school bus and distribute those graphic cards to each of the approximately 200 deputy
registrar locations statewide. Those costs are expected to be one-time and minimal, being
absorbed utilizing existing staff and resources.

Additionally, the bill specifies that the Registrar and deputy registrars are to provide
access to (instead of include, as under current law) specific school bus safety-related information
whenever a driver’s license or license plate (instead of only a license plate under current law) is
issued, and expands that information to also include a summary of the process that allows a
person with first-hand information regarding illegally passing a school bus to corroborate a school
bus operator’s report. The bill also requires that these materials be made available the Bureau of
Motor Vehicles’ website.

“School Bus Safety Awareness Month”

The bill designates August as “School Bus Safety Awareness Month” to increase public
awareness of the need to properly stop when a stopped school bus is loading and unloading
passengers. This provision has no direct fiscal effect on the state or political subdivisions, as it
requires no action by the state or political subdivisions.
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