As Introduced

136th General Assembly Regular Session 2025-2026

H. C. R. No. 10

16

17

Representatives Piccolantonio, Peterson Cosponsors: Representatives Brennan, Demetriou, Grim, Hiner, Isaacsohn, Klopfenstein, McNally, Miller, J., Miller, K., Ray, Robb Blasdel, Sigrist, Sims, Somani, Stephens, White, E.

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To urge Congress to m	ake daylight s	saving time	the 1	L
permanent standard	time.		2	2

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF OHIO (THE SENATE CONCURRING):

WHEREAS, The Congress of the United States first adopted	3	
daylight saving time during World War I to support war	4	
industries. In addition, continuous daylight saving time was	5	
observed during World War II, referred to as War Time, and		
during the 1973 oil crisis; and	7	
WHEREAS, The benefits of daylight saving time include	8	
additional daylight in the evening hours, increased outdoor	9	
playtime for the children and youth, expanded economic	10	
opportunities, energy savings, improved traffic safety, and	11	
crime reduction; and	12	
WHEREAS, States are currently precluded from establishing	13	
permanent daylight saving time by federal law, which requires		
the United States Secretary of Transportation to enforce uniform	15	

application of that law across all time zones (certain states,

such as Arizona, previously opted out of daylight saving time);

and	18
WHEREAS, The Sunshine Protection Act of 2025(S. 29 and H.R.	19
139), introduced in the 119th Congress, would institute	20
permanent daylight saving time nationwide; now therefore be it	21
RESOLVED, That we, the members of the 136th General	22
Assembly of the State of Ohio, urge the Congress of the United	23
States to enact legislation to make daylight saving time	24
permanent; and be it further	25
PESOLVED That the Clark of the House of Pepresentatives	26

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the House of Representatives26transmit duly authenticated copies of this resolution to the27President of the United States, President Pro Tempore and28Secretary of the United States Senate, the Speaker and Clerk of29the United States House of Representatives, the members of the30Ohio Congressional delegation, and the news media of Ohio.31