As Offered

136th General Assembly Regular Session 2025-2026

H. R. No. 107

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

Representative White, A.

A RESOLUTION

Honoring the Oakwood High School speech and debate team as a 2025 Ohio Speech and Debate Association State Champion.

WHEREAS, The members of the House of Representatives of the 136th General Assembly of Ohio are pleased to salute the Oakwood High School speech and debate team on winning the team sweepstakes event at the 3 2025 Ohio Speech and Debate Association State Finals; and WHEREAS, The members of the Oakwood High School speech and debate 5 team are a dedicated and committed collection of students, and they 6 are richly deserving of recognition for the legacy they are leaving for future teams by earning first place in the team sweepstakes event 8 at this year's OSDA State Finals, the first such crown in school 9 history and only the second one in the Greater Miami Valley. These 10 fine individuals have displayed a degree of determination and 11 motivation of which they can be proud; and 12 WHEREAS, Speech and debate competition combines the wisdom and 13 leadership of adulthood with the enthusiasm and optimism of youth so 14 15

WHEREAS, Speech and debate competition combines the wisdom and leadership of adulthood with the enthusiasm and optimism of youth so that our young people will be better prepared to assume meaningful, rewarding roles in society. It is certainly encouraging to know that the future of Ohio lies, to a large extent, in the capable hands of these conscientious individuals; and

WHEREAS, All those associated with the Oakwood High School speech and debate team, including members Henry Almoney, Evie Davis, Maze Li Kudera, Charlotte Schnell, Lizzie Stack, Neil Heckman, Oliver Spaulding, Reese Dunnington, Robert Einhorn, Tristan Williams, Matthew Walton, Taylor Brown, Maverick O'Hara, Ben Sayer, Caleb Walton, Graham Mhaskar, Ava Crawford, Sarah Redden, Mila Gelbart, Will Ross, Abbie

H. R. No. 107
As Offered

Saxen, Kate Silvain, Cameron Lindsey, Erin Geraghty, Bea Drummy, Eva	25
Meehan, Oliver Roederer, Anna Peters, Kiera Lindsey, Liam Vish, and	26
Amelia Butler, warrant recognition of the highest order. Indeed, they	27
have demonstrated exceptional diligence and enthusiasm in preparing	28
for the rigors of competition, and they have set an example of	29
excellence that is worthy of emulation; therefore be it	30
RESOLVED, That we, the members of the House of Representatives of	31
the 136th General Assembly of Ohio, in adopting this Resolution,	32
congratulate the Oakwood High School speech and debate team on its	33
state title and commend the members as some of Ohio's finest citizens;	34
and be it further	35
RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the House of Representatives transmit	36
a duly authenticated copy of this Resolution to the Oakwood High	37
School speech and debate team.	38