(136th General Assembly) (House Resolution Number 13)

A RESOLUTION

To recognize the sovereignty of the Republic of Cyprus over the entirety of the island, and to memorialize the 50th anniversary of the Turkish invasion and occupation of the northern part of the island.

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Ohio:

WHEREAS, On July 20, 1974, Turkish troops invaded the island of Cyprus and captured and occupied the northern part of the island; and

WHEREAS, The Turkish invasion ended in the partition of Cyprus along the UN-monitored Green Line, which still divides Cyprus; and

WHEREAS, United Nations Security Council Resolution 360, adopted on August 16, 1974, declared the Council's respect for the sovereignty, independence, and territorial integrity of the Republic of Cyprus, and formally recorded its disapproval of the unilateral military actions taken against it by Turkey; and

WHEREAS, In 1983, the Turkish Cypriot assembly declared independence of the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus. Immediately upon this declaration, Britain convened a meeting of the United Nations Security Council to condemn the declaration as "legally invalid." United Nations Security Council Resolution 541 (1983) stated the "attempt to create the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus is invalid, and will contribute to a worsening of the situation in Cyprus"; now therefore be it

RESOLVED, That we, the members of the House of Representatives of the 136th General Assembly of the State of Ohio, in adopting this resolution, recognize the sovereignty of the Republic of Cyprus over the entirety of the island; and be it further

RESOLVED, That we memorialize the 50th anniversary of the Turkish invasion and occupation of the northern part of the island; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the House of Representatives transmit a duly authenticated copy of this resolution to the Ambassador of Cyprus at the Embassy of the Republic of Cyprus in the United States, to the Ohio Congressional delegation, and to the news media of Ohio.

Speaker ______ of the House of Representatives.

Adopted _____, 20____