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Highlights 

▪ The Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board (OCILB) housed within the Department 
of Commerce will incur costs for overseeing the new license requirements for commercial 
roofing contractors performing projects of $20,000 or more in value. Initial examination, 
license, and annual renewal fees would offset these costs. Current specialty contractor 
licenses issued by OCILB cost $60 and the examination fee is $25. Licenses renew 
annually. The revenue is deposited into the Industrial Compliance Operating Fund 
(Fund 5560). 

▪ According to 2023 employment data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics, there were just 
over 4,800 roofers in Ohio. A subset of this number would qualify for licensure by OCILB. 
A preliminary estimate is that a minimum of 500 commercial roofers would meet the 
criteria for licensure under the bill. 

Detailed Analysis 

Overview 

The bill requires all commercial roofing contractors performing projects of $20,000 or 
more in value to be licensed by a newly created five-member Roofing Section under the Ohio 
Construction Industry Licensing Board (OCILB), housed within the Department of Commerce’s 
Division of Industrial Compliance. Consequently, OCILB will incur new costs for overseeing this 
licensing program, most if not all of which would be recouped through application, examination, 
and annual licensing fees.  

As with the other three specialty contractor trades licensed by OCILB (plumbing and 
hydronics, electrical, and HVAC and refrigeration), a commercial roofing license must be renewed 
annually. The bill requires roofing contractors to satisfy the same requirements that apply to 
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other specialty contractors under continuing law, including passing a trade-specific examination. 
Finally, the bill also requires OCILB to send notice of the bill’s provisions to the legislative 
authority of a municipal corporation or county before the bill’s effective date and publish notice 
in applicable trade publications and newspapers after the bill’s effective date.  

Locating data to estimate how many commercial contractors operating in Ohio would be 
subject to licensure under the bill is a challenge. According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics’ 
May 2023 State Occupational Employment Estimates, there were an estimated 4,840 roofers in 
Ohio. Note that this estimate does not distinguish between industrial roofers who would not be 
subject to licensure and commercial roofers who would be under the bill. OCILB estimates that a 
minimum of 500 commercial roofers would initially meet the licensure criteria and obtain an 
annual commercial roofing license under the bill. 

Licensing expenditures and revenues 

The Roofing Section established by the bill consists of five members, bringing the total 
number of appointed OCILB members from 17 to 22. According to state payroll data, most 
current OCILB members serve as Board Member 2s under the state’s job classification plan and 
are paid $23.45 per hour for services, plus expenses. The sections meet six times per year. 
Overall, it is anticipated that payments to the five members of the Roofing Section will total 
approximately $6,000 annually. 

Under the bill, the Roofing Section would be responsible for (1) adopting rules for issuing 
licenses, (2) investigating violations, (3) maintaining a record of its proceedings, (4) granting 
approval of training agencies to offer continuing education courses, (5) establishing or approving 
continuing education curriculum, and (6) designing the examination for roofing contractors. The 
Administrative Section of OCILB may also incur a minimal additional cost for handling the new 
commercial roofing contractor workload, since it is responsible for scheduling contractor 
examinations, issuing and renewing licenses, and setting fees related to all specialty contractors 
overseen by OCILB. 

All of these costs would presumably be offset by receipts from application, examination, 
and license renewal fees. The current annual license fee for other specialty contractors licensed 
by OCILB is $60. The examination fee is $25. Presumably, the same fee amount would be assessed 
to roofing contractors. License and examination fees collected by OCILB are deposited into the 
Industrial Compliance Operating Fund (Fund 5560). In FY 2024, Fund 6460 revenues were 
$30.6 million, and expenditures were $31.1 million. As of March 2025, the cash balance of 
Fund 5560 is nearly $23.6 million.  

Penalties for noncompliance 

Like the current penalties that apply to OCILB-regulated industries, the bill allows the 
Board to impose a civil fine of up to $1,000 per violation per day for roofing contractors that are 
out of compliance. A failure to register as a roofing contractor may also be classified as a criminal 
penalty, specifically a minor misdemeanor that carries a maximum fine of $150 per day and a 
misdemeanor of the fourth degree on subsequent violations that carries a maximum fine of $250 
and up to 30 days in jail. Court costs and fine revenue would offset some of any additional 
expense created for local criminal courts to adjudicate these matters. Finally, for any new 
misdemeanor cases, the state receives court costs totaling $29. Of that amount, $20 is deposited 
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into the Indigent Defense Support Fund (Fund 5DY0) and $9 is deposited into the Victims of 
Crime/Reparations Fund (Fund 4020). 

Notification and registration requirements 

OCILB will also incur a minimal cost to send notice and publish information about the bill’s 
provisions. The bill requires OCILB to send notice about the bill’s requirements by regular mail to 
municipal corporations and boards of county commissioners 120 days before the bill’s effective 
date. Additionally, OCILB must publish notice of the bill’s provisions in appropriate trade 
publications and in a newspaper of general circulation in nine of the most populous metropolitan 
areas of Ohio. The Department of Commerce will incur minimal costs to provide notice under 
Fund 5560. 

Local registration  

As with other specialty contractors, the bill allows counties and municipalities to require 
registration of licensed roofing contractors engaging in work locally, along with a fee for 
registration. However, the bill prohibits these political subdivisions from requiring an 
OCILB-licensed roofing contractor to take a separate examination or skills assessment for local 
registration. 
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