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SUMMARY 

▪ Allows for expedited appeals to the Ohio Board of Building Appeals and county and 
municipal boards of building appeals. 

DETAILED ANALYSIS 

The Ohio Board of Building Appeals hears appeals to orders enforcing the Ohio Building 
Code, the Residential Code of Ohio (the building code for residential structures), the Ohio Fire 
Code, the Ohio Elevator Code, and the Ohio Boiler Pressure and Vessel Code. The Board of 
Building Appeals may also certify county and municipal boards of building appeals to hear appeals 
to orders enforcing the Ohio Building Code and the Residential Code of Ohio.1 The bill provides 
for expedited appeals to these boards. 

Requests and scheduling for expedited appeals 

Under current law, when a party appeals an order, the Board of Building Appeals, or the 
relevant county or municipal board, is required to schedule a hearing, no sooner than seven days 
and no later than 15 days after the appeal is requested.2 The bill allows appellants to request 
expedited appeals. If an expedited appeal is requested when the appeal is made, the bill requires 
the board to both: 

▪ Commence the appeal within one day after the request is made, excluding Saturdays, 
Sundays, and legal holidays; 

▪ Hold a hearing within five days after the request is made, excluding Saturdays, Sundays, 
and legal holidays. 

 

1 R.C. 3781.19 and 3781.20; Ohio Administrative Code (O.A.C.) 4101:13-1-04, not in the bill. 
2 R.C. 119.07, not in the bill. 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA136-SB-6


Office of Research and Drafting LSC Legislative Budget Office 
 

P a g e  | 2  S.B. 6 
As Passed by the Senate 

If an expedited appeal is not requested at the outset, the person who requested the 
appeal may later request that the remainder of the appeal be expedited if certain conditions are 
present. Those conditions are that, during the course of the appeal, the board issues a 
continuance of the hearing, such that no decision is made and additional evidence is requested 
in order to continue the proceeding. In those circumstances, the person may request that any 
follow-up hearing be expedited within five days after the issue of the continuance, excluding 
Saturdays, Sundays, and legal holidays. The follow-up hearing then must be held within five days 
after the request.  

Generally, under continuing law, the Board of Building Appeals, and a county or municipal 
board, must issue its decision within 30 days after an appeal hearing. The bill states that this 
deadline does not apply to expedited appeals, but does not provide an alternative deadline.3 

Under the bill, the board conducting an expedited hearing must provide all parties a 
notice before conducting the hearing. The board may hold the hearing electronically.4 

Fees for expedited appeals 

Under continuing law, the Board of Building Appeals is permitted to establish reasonable 
fees for appeals, based on actual costs for administration of filing and processing and not 
exceeding $200 (the current fee is $200). County and municipal boards of building appeals are 
also permitted to establish reasonable, cost-based, fees for appeals that do not exceed $100. The 
bill allows the Board of Building Appeals, and county and municipal boards, to establish additional 
fees for expedited appeals. Those fees cannot exceed $500 for each day the appeal is pending or 
$1,000 in total.5 

Rules 

The Board of Building Standards is authorized to adopt rules implementing the bill’s 
expedited appeal process.6 

HISTORY 

Action Date 

Introduced 01-22-25 

Reported, S. Government Oversight and Reform 02-12-25 

Passed Senate (32-0) 02-19-25 

 

ANSB0006-136/ts 

 

3 R.C. 3781.19. 
4 R.C. 3781.21(A) and (C). 
5 R.C. 3781.19, 3781.20(B), 3781.21(B); O.A.C. 4101:13-1-13, not in the bill. 
6 R.C. 3781.21(D). 


