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Graduated Driver Licensing

The Principle:

Maximize Experience

While Minimizing Risks

For all young novice drivers
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Essential Elements of Teen Driver Licensing

Learner license – 12 months

Adult Supervised driving only

Intermediate license – 6 months
Night driving limit:  9 p.m. – 6 a.m. 

Passenger limit:  ≤ 1 teen passenger 
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Source: Ohio DOT#6
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Parents Teens

Parents

1999

Parents

2015

Teens

1999

12 mo. Learner period 95% 97% ---

9 p.m. night driving limit 87% 90% 81%

Parents & Teens Strongly Approve

Source: UNC HSRC#8



GDL is “self-enforcing”

Compliance with Learner & Intermediate 
requirements extremely high …

Well above 90%!

Active law enforcement of GDL elements 
is not necessary.

Law enforcement should focus on risky 
driving actions like speeding, lack of 
belt use, ignoring traffic controls, etc. 
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Key Point Summary

1. Everyone is at risk from poor teen driving

2. Modern licensing system is our best hope

3. Humans learn by doing; GDL uses this fact

4. GDL protects novices (and others) as they 

“learn by doing”

5. 12 months experience, 9 p.m. needed

6. Parents & teens strongly approve the GDL 

system elements proposed for Ohio

7. Teens comply at very high rates, with no 

active law enforcement
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