## Ohio House Transportation and Public Safety Committee January 24, 2018 HB 293 Proponent Testimony

Robert Abbott

Good morning Chairman Green, Vice Chair Greenspan, Ranking Member Sheehy, and members of the committee, I am Robert Abbott from Granville, Ohio and I support HB293.

I am a father of four teenagers, one of whom has their license and two who currently have their temporary permits.

I am also the founder & CEO of DRVN. A solution that is focused on helping parents play a more effective role in guiding their teens through the Supervised Driving Period. Namely, DRVN helps parents track progress toward the required 50 hours, and helps to increase the skills and diversity of environments covered in the practice stage. We know that creates more competent drivers because there is research to support it. A study done by the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia showed a 65% decrease in risky driving behaviors when teens followed a practice program that increased the range of environments and situations.

Extending the permit period to 12 months means that teens *will* have greater exposure to diverse environments and conditions, especially Winter driving. Furthermore, it increases the chances that more students will get at least 50 practice hours to establish an important base of their driving experience. Establishing a 9 p.m. nighttime driving protection during the first 6 months of licensure will help reduce risk by ensuring teens are not driving unsupervised for non-essential travel during a critical period of skill development. As a parent, that is reassuring.

When we were designing DRVN, we realized the challenges of reaching those 50 hours. It's important to point out that parents are responsible for 86% of their teens in-car driving time as currently required by law during the Permit Period. We interviewed parents, and we found a common theme that they often struggle with finding time to practice with their teens.

Extending the permit period to 12 months should give parents more time to navigate this process, lead to exposure of different conditions, and in turn make teens more experienced

drivers. A 9 p.m. nighttime driving protection will allow a teen's licensure to get started more safely. This is why I've decided to support HB 293.

With that, I would welcome any questions from the committee.