

I would like to thank Representative Huffman for sponsoring bill HB 252 designating January as "Blood Donor Awareness Month" to increase public awareness of the need for blood donations, to encourage the public to give blood, and to recognize the lifesaving contributions of blood and platelet donors.

The Ohio Association of Blood Banks (OABB) is a non-profit organization dedicated to providing safe blood products for all patients that require treatment. The OABB also provides continuing education opportunities to health professionals interested in the use of blood and blood products.

OABB members are involved in the collection of donor whole blood, creating components from the donated whole blood, distribution of blood components to patients, through the managing of patients who receive the blood products. OABB members are also responsible for laboratory testing related to transfusion medicine and blood banking.

Our mission is to promote education, professional growth and technical expertise in Blood Banking and Transfusion Medicine and other related disciplines and to provide the highest standard of service and care to all of our customers including, but not limited to, patients, donors and peers.

We cannot perform our job without the wonderful volunteers who donate blood throughout the year. Thank you for increasing awareness and giving recognition to those who are so generous.

Approved: September 11, 2017

OABB Board of Directors

Cynthia R. Condrey, MT(ASCP)SBB, CQA(ASQ), PMP - President
Susan Ford, MT(ASCP)SBB^{CM} - President Elect
Colleen McGuinness Slapak, MS, MT(ASCP)SBB – Immediate Past President
Sheryl L. Bruns, MT(ASCP)^{CM}SBB, MHA – Secretary
Danielle Weilnau, MLS(ASCP)^{CM} - Treasurer

Region 1 Directors (Toledo/Lima/Mansfield)
Courtnie Croskey – Non-Physician

Region 2 Directors (Cleveland/Youngstown/Canton)
Jeanne Firment, BS, MLT(ASCP) – Non-Physician
NurJehan Quraishy, MD – Physician

Region 3 Directors (Dayton/Cincinnati)
Mollie Bell, BS, MLS(ASCP)^{CM},SBB^{CM} – Non-Physician
James Gatton, MD – Physician

Region 4 Directors (Columbus/Marietta) Shelly Baylor, MT(ASCP) – Non-Physician Elizabeth Biller, MD – Physician

Sponsor of HB 252: Representative Steve Huffman