Support "Slow Down to Get Around"

Help keep refuse and recycling collection workers safe on our streets



Careless driving by motorists puts waste and recycling collectors at risk every day. In fact, the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) has named the refuse and recycling collector as the fifth most dangerous occupation. Of all the fatalities for these hard-working men and women, two-thirds (67 percent) were the result of transportation incidents. Many of these incidents are caused by inattentive or distracted driving by motorists who failed to yield to refuse and recycling collection vehicles. Most of the time, the danger is no different than that experienced by police officers and wrecker drivers who are stopped at the side of the road.

A 2001 study commissioned by the Environmental Research and Education Foundation (EREF) found that there were approximately 136,300 refuse and recycling collection vehicles in use by the industry, both private and public sector. Assuming that two-thirds of those trucks are in use on any given workday, that means almost 90,000 workers are exposed to distracted driving. Refuse and recycling workers work hard every day to keep our streets and neighborhoods clean and safe. They deserve the additional protection that a "Slow Down to Get Around" law would provide.

A total of 16 states around the country have enacted "Slow Down to Get Around" laws. The statutes vary from state to state, but the laws generally require drivers to slow down and yield to collection vehicles, especially when the operator is emptying a cart or walking back to the truck. "Slow Down to Get Around" laws are saving lives by requiring drivers to exercise caution and avoid distractions when they are approaching a collection truck.

Please support this important legislation and keep our workers safe.

Slow Down to Get Around has become law in:

- > Alabama, 2013
- > Florida, 2014
- > Georgia, 2015
- 2001 914, 2015
- > Indiana, 2015
- > Illinois, 2015
- > lowa, 2017
- > Kentucky, 2017
- > Michigan, 2009
- > Missouri, 2017
- > New Jersey, 2017
- > New York, 2016
- > North Carolina, 2015
- > Oklahoma, 2016
- > Virginia, 2015

- > Wisconsin, 2013
- > West Virginia, 2014



