

To: Senator John Eklund
The Ohio Senate Public Utilities Committee

May 17, 2017

Subject: Letter of Support – Senate Bill No. 128

I would like to express the strongest possible support for your committee efforts approving Senate Bill No. 128.

As demonstrated in the Great States of Illinois (Quad Cities & Clinton Nuclear Power Stations) and New York (James A. Fitzpatrick Nuclear Power Plant) Clean Energy Act Recognition has extended the continued operation of these three plants an additional 10 years preserving thousands of High Tech Nuclear Positions.

As a Nuclear Service Supplier in the State of Ohio it is imperative that FirstEnergy has the same playing field as the larger utilities in the nearby states.

In-turn with the Ohio aid plan (S.B. No. 128) contingent upon passing FirstEnergy needs to maximize its use of Ohio (in- State) Service Providers. I would like to request that your committee takes on an "Ohio First" Position with FirstEnergy setting conditions that "keeps & front seats" capable businesses in Ohio, the "first right of refusal" when bidding on related projects and services. The State of Ohio needs this minimal commitment as a Good Faith Gesture from FirstEnergy along with maximizing the material condition "upkeep" of these power stations environmentally safe, limiting waste & recyclable materials as low as possible in Ohio. Please raise the concern (ask) FirstEnergy to validate the percentage of work awarded to Non-Ohio Vendors.

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to support your committee's efforts specifically applying credits and recognizing the ZEN credit concept for Zero-Emissions Nuclear Resource and unique benefits of its nuclear plants and positioning Ohio to maintain its technology based workforce.

If there are any other ways in which I can be of assistance please let me know.

Sincere Regards,

Patrick J. New

New Green Legacy Services President-CEO

3715 Parmly Road Perry, Ohio 44081

Cc: Bill Beagle, Frank LaRose, Sandra Williams, Troy Balderson, Dave Burke, Cliff Hite, Matt Huffman, Kris Jordan, Sean O'Brien, Vernon Sykes, Lou Terhar, Joe Uecker