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Chairman Hambley, Vice Chair Patton, Ranking Member Brown, and Members of the Committee,
my name is Traci Berry and | am the Director of the Tuscarawas County Child Support Enforcement
Agency (CSEA) and the Past President of the Ohio CSEA Directors’ Association (OCDA). Thank
you for the opportunity to provide written opponent testimony on HB 622 which seeks to
retroactively suspend all child support obligations to March 9, 2020 for those child support payors
who were adversely affected by the COVID 19 pandemic.

As the Director of Tuscarawas County Child Support Enforcement Agency and an attorney who has

practiced family law in Ohio for over 20 years, | will address some of HB 622's legal deficiencies:

e Child support orders in Ohio are based upon an income shares model of guideline support
where both parents’ income is taken into consideration when issuing or modifying a child

support order. HB 622 only addresses a loss or reduction of the payor’s (obligor’s) income
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thereby bypassing the very nature of Ohio’s child support calculation laws [see ORC
3119.01 et seq]

Ohio law already provides for a modification of a child support order if either parent
experiences a change of income resulting in a change of circumstances through the CSEA
administrative process set forth in ORC 3119.60-.72 or via court pleading providing both
parents due process and objection rights. HB 622 provides neither due process nor
objection rights.

HB 622 requires a CSEA to suspend a child support obligation of an obligor who as a result
of the pandemic is “unable to fulfill” their child support obligation retroactively to March 2,
2020 by conducting an investigation and providing results to the Obligor that their child
support order shall be suspended or continue. No definition is included for “unable to fulfill”,
and no notice of the investigation nor its results are provided to the Obligee.

o This section is contrary to 42 USC 654 which sets forth the mandatory requirements
of a state’s child support enforcement program plan. Specifically, 42 USC 654
(12)(A) and (B) requires an agency provide all parties notice of all proceedings in
which child support obligations might be modified and requires a copy of any order
modifying a support obligation be provided to all parties.

o The retroactive nature of HB 622 violates 42 USC 666 (9)(C), which prohibits states
from enacting laws to retroactively adjust a support amount or an arrearage due
under the support order. The suspension required by HB 622 is a retroactive
modification to $0.00 which is prohibited.

HB 622 further seeks to prohibit a child support enforcement agency from submitting an
obligor to credit reporting for a defaulted child support order and intercepting federal tax
refunds to apply to past-due child support. HB 622 fails to consider that for many families,
tax refund intercepts are the only payment they may receive in a year and that many
obligors count on the tax intercept to pay off any arrearage that may have accumulated.

o CSEAs continue to submit reports to credit reporting agencies as obligors’ arrearage

may increase or decrease depending on payment. The prohibition HB 622 seeks
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may harm the obligors it seeks to protect by not allowing a CSEA to report a positive
change to the credit report.

HB 622 prohibition of credit reporting is contrary to the requirement set forth in 42
USC 666 (7) requiring an agency to submit obligors to credit reporting.

42 USC 664 mandates states to submit obligors with assigned arrearage of more
than $150.00 or arrearage due the family of $500.00 or more to the IRS for federal

tax intercept and specifically prohibits states from enacting laws to the contrary.

o Lastly, HB 622 prohibits a court or agency from issuing new child support orders requiring

any payment if the obligor lost a primary source of income due to the pandemic. This

prohibition violates many established sections of Ohio law governing child support orders.
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ORC 3105.21 and 3109.04 requires a court of common pleas to issue orders in a
divorce or dissolution for the care and maintenance of minor children with support
orders complying with the child support guidelines set forth in ORC 3119 et seq.
ORC 3111.80 requires a CSEA upon an IV-D application and request to establish a
support order for a minor child in accordance with the Ohio child support guidelines.
ORC 2151.231 permits a juvenile court to issue support orders for relative care
givers of a minor child who ask for child support and shall comply with the Ohio
guidelines

ORC 3119.06 requires a court or agency who issues or modifies a support order to
issue a minimum support order of $80.00 per month absent specific criteria.

HB 622 applies to obligors who have “lost their primary source of income” due to the
pandemic. This fails to address other sources of income used to calculate and
collect child support for families. These sources include but are not limited to
unemployment benefits, liquid assets, secondary and passive income sources as
defined in ORC 3119.01.

In closing, the COVID-19 pandemic created unforeseen hardships on families. Both federal and

Ohio child support laws ensure due process for all parties, carefully set out criteria for calculation



and enforcement of child support orders agencies must utilize in order to comply with federal
requirements of the state plan necessary to secure TANF block grant funding. Ohio’s child support
program and its many state and county employees worked within these well- established laws

during this pandemic, serving the one million children in our program..

HB 622, if enacted, strips due process rights from families and violates federal law, therefore we

respectfully oppose HB 622.

Traci A Berry, Director
Tuscarawas County CSEA



