

May 17, 2019

Senate Judiciary Committee 1 Capitol Square Columbus, OH 43215

Dear Senate Judiciary Committee;

The Lima/Allen County Chamber of Commerce is a leading business advocate and represent over 900 companies that do business in the Lima/Allen County Region. Our mission is to serve represent and enhance business growth and success.

Our businesses need the best and brightest talent from all walks of life to feel welcome and to call Ohio home. Ensuring that Ohio's future business competitiveness is good for all of Ohio and enhances respect for all employers and employees is key. These protections will further show that Ohio is a hospitable and welcoming place to live, work, and start a business.

In advancing Ohio's business climate, the Lima Allen County Chamber agrees with the Ohio Chamber of Commerce that we need to recognize the value and power of diversity. We believe that employees deserve robust protections from discrimination and that discrimination of any type has no place in the workplace. Everyone deserves the right to do their job without fear of being discriminated against and every person, regardless of their race, color, religion, sex, military status, national origin, disability, age, ancestry, sexual orientation, or gender identity, deserves equal opportunity and equal protection under the law.

In conclusion, adding protections against discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity will help businesses attract the best and brightest talent from all walks of life and ensure that Ohio is viewed as a welcome and hospitable place to do business. It will also provide a statewide standard where there has not previously been one eliminating the need for a patchwork of local labor laws, easing the compliance burdens on businesses. The Lima/Allen County Chamber of Commerce urges support for SB11 to further advance Ohio's image as an open and welcome place to work and do business.

Sincerely,

Jed E. Metzger

Jed E. Metzger President/CEO

Cc;

Sen. John Eklund Sen. Teresa Fedor Sen. Rob McColley Sen. Nathan Manning Sen. Theresa Gavarone Sen. Sen. Sen. O'Brien Sen. Cecil Thomas Sen. Matt Huffman

Sen. Bill Coley Sen. Peggy Lehner