



Mike DeWine, Governor Jon Husted, Lt. Governor Kathleen C. Madden, Director

## House Bill 445 Testimony

Chairman Baldridge, Vice Chair McClain, Ranking Member Sheehy, and members of the House Transportation and Public Safety Committee, thank you for the opportunity to provide testimony on House Bill 445. My name is Katrina Flory and I am the State Chief Information Officer and Assistant Director of the Department of Administrative Services (DAS).

The State's 9-1-1 Program Office, which operates within the DAS Office of Information Technology, coordinates communication concerning 9-1-1 issues among state, federal, regional, and local public safety officials and manages the state's long-term strategy for migration to Next Generation 9-1-1, also known as "Next Gen."

House Bill 445 transitions our current 9-1-1 landscape to Next Gen, which is a turning point in how we interact with emergency services. Transitioning to a Next Gen based emergency communications system will allow our public safety partners to leverage the technological innovations that have already transformed much of American society with the addition of text messaging and more accurate location data. More importantly, Next Gen will make 9-1-1 more effective, more resilient, and better integrated with field responders.

Some of the main provisions in the legislation include:

- Replacing existing three-member County 9-1-1 Planning Committees with six-member County 9-1-1 Program Review Committees and granting large metropolitan counties flexibility in their structure to ensure stakeholder participation.
- Establishing the Statewide 9-1-1 Universal Access Fee (UAF) at 25 cents on all devices that can directly connect to 9-1-1. The UAF would stay at 25 cents for two years, and in years three through seven, the Emergency Services Internet Protocol Network (ESINet) Steering Committee would be empowered to annually adjust the fee as needed, with a cap of 30 cents. In year eight, the fee would revert to 25 cents and the ESINet Steering Committee would send a recommendation to the legislature on the effectiveness of the fee as well as for future adjustments to the fee.
- Establishing checkpoints along the way for the ESINet Steering Committee to report to the legislature any recommendations related to fee collection or auditing needs.
- Bringing all Public Safety Answering Points (PSAPs) under requirements of the current PSAP Operations Rules. Currently, only PSAPs that initially answer wireless calls are subject to these rules. In this legislation, any PSAP that initially answers 9-1-1 calls from any source will be subject to the rules.
- Requiring all counties to offer Next Gen services five years from the date a statewide Core Services System is ready and available to all counties.

Office of InformationTechnology 77 South High Street, 19th Floor Columbus, Ohio 43215

614-728-2114 das.ohio.gov

The State of Ohio is an equal opportunity employer.

This legislation is comprised of the recommendations approved by the ESINet Steering Committee. The Committee was established in Ohio Revised Code 128.02 and has ten members: two members from the Ohio House of Representatives, two members from the Ohio Senate, five members appointed by the Governor, and the State Chief Information Officer, who is the nonvoting Chair and operates within the DAS. The Ohio Revised Code also established ESINet Steering Committee PSAP Operations and Technical Standards sub-committees, which are made up of first responders, 9-1-1 center managers and 9-1-1 industry leaders. These sub-committees contributed a significant portion of the recommendations ultimately approved by the ESINet Steering Committee.

I would like to thank Representatives Carfagna and Smith as well as Senators Wilson and Maharath for their work on the ESINet Steering Committee and this legislation. Next Gen services have improved functionality and interoperability that will support first responders and bring greater capacity for innovation as they protect the health and safety of millions of Ohioans.

Chairman Baldridge and committee members, thank you for your time today. We are happy to answer any questions you may have.