

## ULYSSES S. GRANT PRESIDENTIAL LIBRARY

## Ulysses S. Grant Association

MITCHELL MEMORIAL LIBRARY | MISSISSIPPI STATE UNIVERSITY | P.O. BOX 5408 | MISSISSIPPI STATE, MS 39762

December 6, 2022

Dear Ohio Senate Government Oversight and Reform Committee

I'm writing in my capacity as the Executive Director of the Ulysses S. Grant Association and Ulysses S. Grant Presidential Library to voice my support for the measure SB 346 being considered by the Ohio state legislature which would make Grant's birthday a state holiday.

If passed, this measure would be much more than a symbolic nod to a great military general and U.S. president during the bicentennial year of his birth. Rather, it would mark the high tide of the reevaluation of Grant's performance in the Civil War as well as a broader understanding of the Union war project.

Both as a Civil War general and a Reconstruction president, Grant wielded the power of the U.S. military with humility and conviction, first as a Civil War general, then as General of the Army, and finally as Commander in Chief. He did so first to save the Union, and then to make good on its promises of freedom and equality.

You and you fellow legislators must feel a great sense of pride that Grant hailed from the Buckeye State. As the son of a humble tanner who went on to West Point, and from there to military and political greatness, he truly embodied the promise of opportunity to be had in frontier Ohio, and more broadly in the United States.

As a measure of how much the appreciation of Grant's military and government service to the nation has grown in past decades, we at Mississippi State University (deep in a state he once conquered) are proud and grateful to be the home of his presidential library.

We watch with hope and anticipation as you consider whether to accord Grant this yearly public tribute in Ohio.

Sincerely,

Anna E. Maushall

Dr. Anne E. Marshall

office: 662.325.4552 | USGPresidentialLibrary@library.msstate.edu | www.usgrantlibrary.org

DR. ANNE E. MARSHALL Executive Director JAMES A. BULTEMA President | Michelle Krowl Vice President for Advancement ULYSSES GRANT DIETZ Vice President for Aquisitions | HARRIET F. SIMON Secretary

DIRECTORS Eileen Bradner James A. Bultema Stephen Cunetto Curt Fields Ulysses Grant Dietz

John G. Griffiths Harold Holzer Michelle Krowl Anne E. Marshall John F. Marszalek Edna Greene Medford Lis Pankl John Samson Frank Scaturro Harriet F. Simon William S. Spears Claire Ruestow Telecki Frank J. Williams EDITORIAL BOARD Roger D. Bridges William C. Davis Harold M. Hyman Mark E. Neely, Jr. Jean Edward Smith