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Chairman Rulli, Vice Chair Lang, Ranking Member Sykes, and members of the Ohio 
Senate Small Business and Economic Opportunity Committee. I am Sue Carter 
Moore, licensed Cosmetologist, 1966, licensed Cosmetology Instructor, 1970, and 
President Emeritus of Salon Schools Group, four cosmetology schools located in 
central Ohio. I am here to offer strong opposition to SB 133.  
 
First, I would like to refute information Mr. Chris Ferruso from the NFIB gave in his 
May 5th testimony. He stated a member of Ohio NFIB contacted him regarding 
their wish to hire a recent cosmetology school graduate, but were unable to do so 
because of a long wait for the state licensure examination. 
 
I emailed him a link to Ohio’s temporary pre-examination work permit to share 
with his NFIB member. The temporary pre-examination work permit is not new, 
and has been available my entire cosmetology career. The temporary pre-
examination work permit may be extended one time by the Ohio Cosmetology 
and Barber Board.  
 
As to the October date the potential employee claimed to be scheduled for 
testing, my comment is our graduates are currently being scheduled in July, 
despite board testing at reduced capacity. I verified with the Executive Director of 
the Ohio Cosmetology and Barber Board that testing appointments are 
considerably sooner than October.  
 
In an effort to supply immediate and correct information about the finer points of 
Federal Financial Aid applicable to clock hour schools, here today is our Financial 
Aid Officer, Cheryl Halblaub.  With her is Sabrina Walden, Vice President of 
Administration, who is responsible for coordinating Ohio Cosmetology law, our 
accrediting agency’s policies, and how Ohio law and accrediting standards 



interface with Federal DOE regulations. Each has comments about previous 
proponent testimony, and will provide more complete answers to your questions 
about how reduction of cosmetology and barber education will negatively impact 
students and schools in Ohio.  
 
 
On March 26, 2021 I researched regulations of states contiguous to Ohio and 
found the following results when an Ohio licensee wishes to work out-of-state, 
not an unusual occurrence for individuals living near Ohio’s borders. Every 
contiguous state requires more than 1000 clock hours. 
 
West Virginia: 1800 clock hours; will accept work experience in lieu of part of the 
training: 25 clock hours per month of salon work, or 300 clock hours per year. 
Total work experience cannot exceed 50% of the required hours, and must have 
been acquired within the past 5 years.  
 
Michigan: 1500 clock hours; licensed work experience can substitute for training 
hours in a ratio of 100 clock hours for each 6 months of salon experience, 
therefore 2 ½ years’ experience is required in addition to completion of 1000 
hours.  
 
Indiana: 1500 clock hours; 1 year of licensed practice can equal 100 clock hours of 
education, therefore, a transferee must have 5 years working experience with 
only a 1000 hour education; the individual must have completed a minimum of 
1000 clock hours of in-school education; any hours above the original state’s 
licensure requirement will not be accepted for transfer. 
 
Kentucky: 1500 clock hours; must complete remaining clock hours in a Kentucky 
school; will accept only clock hours that the home state requires for licensure. If 
an applicant does not have enough hours to match Kentucky’s hourly 
requirements, the applicant must complete the remaining hours in a school in 
Kentucky before applying for a licensing examination.  

Pennsylvania: 1250 clock hours; at least two or more years of licensed work 
experience if transferring from a state with a reciprocal agreement, which Ohio 
has. 

 



 

This information segues nicely to the May 18, 2021 Zoom meeting invitation I, 
along with several others in Ohio received, to participate in discussions with the 
Council of State Governments in partnership with the Department of Defense to 
support the mobility of licensed professionals through the development of new 
interstate compacts.  

As mentioned, cosmetology and barber education reduction has been introduced 
in 3 previous General Assemblies, and failed. How many years will it take for even 
contiguous states to fall into line with each other? Compacts are becoming the 
norm in many licensed professions, and I am looking forward to participating, and 
effecting a speedy conclusion to license mobility problems. Ohio is one of 27 
states that require 1500 hours of education, with only 4 states at 1000 hours. 16 
states require more than 1500 hours. 

Finally, as an educator, I need to emphasize that reducing 1500 hours of 
education to 1000 hours is a grave injustice to individuals seeking a quality 
education that will afford them a lasting career. To hear highly educated men, 
who cannot answer questions about cosmetology procedures say “lower the 
education, get them into jobs faster, and let the market place determine if they 
can be successful” is reprehensible, condescending, and shrouded in elitism.  

Ohio currently has a 1200 hour Hair Designer License. Our Hair Designer course 
was approved in 2016, and we have had only 16 Hair Designer graduates during 
that time. According to the 2020 Annual Report from the Ohio Cosmetology and 
Barber Board, statewide, only 19 new Hair Designer Licenses were issued.  

The 2019 Annual report shows 2,598 new1500 hour cosmetology licenses, and 
18,272 licenses renewed. 242 new advanced cosmetology licenses were issued, 
along with 40,544 advanced license renewals.  It is very clear which cosmetology 
license in Ohio is most desirable.  

Ohio law requires 1500 clock hours of cosmetology education. It does not say 
“except for public school cosmetology education.” The missing 375 clock hours 
are allocated to math, science, and other academic subjects. The 1125 clock hours 
so often referenced in testimony, and the statements “to bring private education 
in line with public education” and “public schools are already doing it” are not 
valid reasons for education reduction to 1000 clock hours.  



 
What are the outcome assessments of Ohio public school cosmetology 
graduates?   
 
How many public cosmetology school students who begin the course complete it? 
 
How many public cosmetology school students sit for the licensure examination? 
 
How many public cosmetology school graduates are working cosmetologists one, 
two, and three years after licensure?  
 
Private cosmetology schools must provide that information to the US DOE, and to 
their accrediting agencies, in order to remain eligible for accreditation.   
 
Where is the proof that public school cosmetology education is the model that 
should be adopted by Ohio? 
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