As Introduced

134th General Assembly Regular Session 2021-2022

H. C. R. No. 13

Representatives Koehler, Creech

Cosponsors: Representatives Wiggam, Stewart, Bird, Seitz, Kick, Ghanbari, Gross, Fowler Arthur, McClain, Riedel, Jones, Ray, Lanese, Carruthers, Stein

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

Τо	urge Congress to enact The Sunshine Protection Act of	1
	2021, which would make daylight saving time the	2
	permanent standard time.	3

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF OHIO (THE SENATE CONCURRING):

WHEREAS, The Congress of the United States first adopted	4	
daylight saving time during World War I to support war	5	
industries. In addition, continuous daylight saving time was	6	
observed during World War II, referred to as War Time, and	7	
during the 1973 oil crisis; and	8	
WHEREAS, The benefits of daylight saving time include	9	
additional daylight in the evening hours, increased outdoor	10	
playtime for the children and youth, expanded economic		
opportunities, energy savings, improved traffic safety, and		
crime reduction; and		
WHEREAS, States are currently precluded from establishing	14	
permanent daylight saving time by federal law, which requires	15	
the United States Secretary of Transportation to enforce uniform	16	
application of that law across all time zones (certain states,		
such as Arizona, previously opted out of daylight saving time);		

H. C. R. No. 13 As Introduced	Page 2	
and	19	
WHEREAS, The Sunshine Protection Act of 2021 (H.R. 69),	20	
introduced in the 117th Congress, would institute permanent	21	
daylight saving time nationwide; now therefore be it	22	
RESOLVED, That we, the members of the 134th General	23	
Assembly of the State of Ohio, urge the Congress of the United	24	
States to enact The Sunshine Protection Act of 2021 (H.R. 69);	25	
and be it further		
RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the House of Representatives	27	
transmit duly authenticated copies of this resolution to the	28	
President of the United States, President Pro Tempore and		
Secretary of the United States Senate, the Speaker and Clerk of	30	
the United States House of Representatives, the members of the		
Ohio Congressional delegation, and the news media of Ohio.	32	