

Chairman Young, Vice Chair Manning, Ranking Member Miller and members of the House Higher Education Committee. We are writing this letter in support of HB 183 otherwise known as the "Bathroom Bill".

We are a group of superintendents who have devoted our professional lives to the education and development of children. As such nothing is more important to us than the safety of ALL students. We work every day with children who face a myriad of challenges. Our job as educators is to support each and every one of them to ensure they all have the opportunity to reach their full potential.

Currently case law is split on whether policies limiting bathrooms to one biological sex are permissible. Districts are left with the difficult decisions involved with supporting all of our students. At times this debate only seems to center around protections for the one group of children or another. That is unacceptable.

We support the ability of districts to make decisions at the local level. Communities elect school board members who are best able to make decisions for their community. Statewide policies imposing one viewpoint or course or action on every district are problematic in they don't take into account the different circumstances our districts face.

This bill will allow districts to make the decisions on how to best support each of their students. We currently have districts that have policies providing access to any individual who wants privacy. The desire to use a private bathroom facility could come from a variety of factors, including both physical health or mental health needs.

At this time, districts need the security of HB 183. Local communities are in the best position to make the decisions on the operation of their districts. The law is far from settled, and during this time of uncertainty districts need to be able to know that as they are protecting their entire student population they don't have to fear being sued or losing funding because of their policies.

We respectively request that the Committee favorably report this bill out of committee.

Sincerely,

Signatures.

Superintendent

Apollo Career Center – Keith Horner, Superintendent
Arcanum-Butler Local School – John Stephens,
Superintendent
Auglaize County ESC – Shawn Brown,

Botkins Local Schools – Jeff McPheron, Superintendent Celina City Schools – Dr. Kenneth Schmeising, Superintendent



Coldwater Exempted Village Schools – Doug Mader, Superintendent

Columbus Grove Local Schools – Nick Verhoff, Superintendent

Crestview Local Schools – Kathy Mollenkopf, Superintendent

Darke County ESC – Jim Atchley, Superintendent

Eaton Community Schools – Jeff Parker, Superintendent

Hardin-Houston Local Schools – Ryan Maier, Superintendent

Indian Lake Local Schools – Rob Underwood, Superintendent

Jackson Center Local Schools – Bill Reichart, Superintendent

Lincolnview Local Schools – Jeff Snyder, Superintendent

Marion Local Schools – Mike Pohlman, Superintendent

Mercer County ESC - Shelly Vaughn, Superintendent

Miller City-New Cleveland Local School – Kerry Johnson, Superintendent

Minster Local Schools – Josh Meyer, Superintendent

National Trail Local Schools – Robert Fischer, Superintendent

New Bremen Local Schools – Jason Schrader, Superintendent

New Knoxville Local Schools – Kim Waterman, Superintendent

Parkway Local Schools – Jeanne Osterfeld, Superintendent

Perry Local Schools – Kelly Schooler, Superintendent

Preble County ESC – Shawn Hoff, Superintendent

Ridgemont – Brian Hogan, Superintendent

Russia Local Schools - Steve Rose, Superintendent

Sidney City Schools – Bob Humble, Superintendent

Spencerville Local Schools – Brian Woods, Superintendent

St. Marys City Schools – Bill Ruane, Superintendent

Tri-Village Local School – Josh Sagester,

Superintendent

Upper Scioto Valley Local School – Craig Hurley, Superintendent

Van Wert Local School – Mark Bagley, Superintendent

Vandalia-Butler City Schools - Robert O'Leary

Versailles Local Schools – David Harmon, Superintendent

Wapakoneta City Schools – Aaron Rex, Superintendent

Waynesfield-Goshen Local Schools – Tim Pence, Superintendent