Chair Bird, Vice Chair Fowler Arthur, Ranking Member Robinson, and members of the House Primary and Secondary Education Committee, thank you for allowing me to testify today. My name is Dawn Thompson, while I currently serve as a Career Tech Workforce Education faculty member at Bowling Green State University, my testimony is my own and I do not represent BGSU. I work very closely with new career tech teachers hired throughout the state of Ohio with one of those programs being the 24 credit hours of coursework currently required by law for individuals from industry hired to teach in K-12 career tech programs. I am here today to provide interested party testimony on HB432.

HB432 would create alternative licensure pathways for skilled professionals who have been hired as a new Career Tech Educator. The teacher shortage is a crisis and I applaud any effort to resolve the shortage, but HB432 has many provisions that are worrying.

Over the past 2 years I have been part of a partnership with the Northwest Ohio area career tech programs administrators to enhance the coursework and mentorship provided to new career tech teachers. We recognize the importance of all those involved in Career Tech Education to work together to provide those who come from industry the necessary knowledge to work with students from middle school through high school. We are not opposed to change but do want to address some issues we see with equity between the 3 options provided in the bill.

To start, let me address some misunderstanding regarding the 24-credit hour Provisional Career Tech Workforce Development licensure program. A licensed K-12 teacher is not eligible for the Provisional license or the 24-credit hour program. Individuals who already hold a teaching license need to pursue a supplemental license. Those individuals need to follow one of several supplemental license pathways. The credit hours for that vary based on transcript reviews, but never exceeds 15 hours, with 3 of those credit hours being a literacy requirement for any new/additional teaching license. The supplemental license is a different license than those who come directly from industry without a teaching license.

All k-12 teachers in Ohio who have taught for 5, 10, 20 years or more are required to complete 180 hours of PD hours (or 6 credit hours) in order to renew their license every 5 years (30 hours PD = 1 credit hour). When thinking of equity to teachers, veteran teachers are required to complete 180 PD hours to renew their license, but new teachers with no training or experience in education are being asked to complete much less.

So, in looking at the options for those individuals hired directly from industry, the requirements do not appear to be consistent:

- Option 1 of this bill leaves the coursework in place at 24-credit hours
- Option 2 of the bill includes 9 credit hours of coursework and an additional 45 hours of professional development (3 hours of PD = 1 credit hour)
- Option 3 of the bill consists of 90 hours of professional development and work with an assigned district mentor. (15 minutes of PD = 1 credit hour)

In addition, option 3 does not address the existing 3-credit hour literacy requirement for all new teaching license.

All coursework provided to new teachers is provided by education programs that have been approved by state review and national education accreditation. Option 3 eliminates the college courses requirement and new teachers will require only 90 hours of professional development that is not approved by any type of educational accredited organization to earn a state of Ohio Career Tech teaching license thereby potentially lowering the standards for future Career Tech teachers.

It is important to note that individuals who are hired to teach in career tech programs have various levels of educational experiences from high school diplomas or GED's to those with industry credentials to individuals with different levels of post-secondary educations in their content areas. We have worked with many new teachers throughout the state of Ohio who have been able to earn or advance their degrees by applying the courses taken for their license to degree programs. Option 3 of this bill will not provide individuals these degree opportunities, thus not providing opportunity for advancement in their educational careers or allow them to move up on pay scales that many school district that base the pay bumps on college credits earned.

Thank you for your time and I will take any questions you may have.