As Introduced

131st General Assembly Regular Session 2015-2016

S. C. R. No. 6

Senator Balderson

Cosponsors: Senators Hite, Hughes, LaRose, Seitz, Williams

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

То	urge	the U	i.S.	Congress	to 1	ift t	the	prohi	ibition	on	1
	the e	export.	of	crude oil	fro	m t.he	e Un	ited	States.		2

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF OHIO (THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING):

WHEREAS, Beginning with the Energy Policy and	3	
Conservation Act of 1975, the U.S. Congress has prohibited	4	
the export of crude oil from the United States; and	5	
WHEREAS, The 1970s saw high oil prices as a result of	6	
the Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries'	7	
withholding of production and a need to increase domestic	8	
energy production and supply to provide for energy	9	
independence. Thus, the prohibition originally was intended	10	
to preserve domestic price ceilings by preventing domestic	11	
producers from receiving higher world oil prices and to		
preserve a depleting domestic reserve; and	13	
WHEREAS, Since that time, the use of directional	14	
drilling and hydraulic fracturing technologies in shale	15	
formations in the United States has made this country more	16	
crude oil independent. Additionally, the United States is	17	
currently exporting over four million barrels of refined	18	
products, such as gasoline, each day; and	19	

S. C. R. No. 6 As Introducedby the Senate	Page 2
WHEREAS, The continued oil production in Ohio and across	20
the country is providing an opportunity for economic growth	21
and stability through the export of crude oil. Thus, the	22
prohibition on exports of crude oil is no longer necessary;	23
now therefore be it	24
RESOLVED, That we, the members of the 131st General	25
Assembly of the State of Ohio, urge the U.S. Congress to lift	26
the prohibition on the export of crude oil from the United	27
States; and be it further	28
RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the Senate transmit duly	29
authenticated copies of this resolution to the President of	30
the United States, the U.S. Secretary of Commerce, the U.S.	31
Secretary of Energy, the President Pro Tempore and Minority	32
Leader of the U.S. Senate, the Speaker and Minority Leader of	33
the U.S. House of Representatives, and the members of the	34
Ohio Congressional delegation.	35