As Adopted by the House

133rd General Assembly Regular Session 2019-2020

S. C. R. No. 8

Senators Roegner, Peterson

Cosponsors: Senators Schuring, Blessing, Brenner, Burke, Coley, Dolan, Hoagland, Hottinger, Huffman, S., Johnson, Manning, McColley, Obhof, Wilson Representatives Wiggam, Abrams, Becker, Callender, Hambley, Hillyer, Jones, Kick, Koehler, Lang, Roemer, Smith, T.

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

	time	3
	2019, which would permanently extend daylight saving	2
ΤΌ	urge Congress to enact The Sunshine Protection Act of	Τ

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF OHIO (THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING):

WHEREAS, The Congress of the United States first adopted	4	
daylight saving time during World War I to support war	5	
industries. In addition, continuous daylight saving time was	6	
observed during World War II, referred to as War Time, and	7	
during the 1973 oil crisis; and	8	
WHEREAS, The benefits of daylight saving time include	9	
additional daylight in the evening hours, increased outdoor	10	
playtime for the children and youth, expanded economic		
opportunities, energy savings, improved traffic safety, and	12	
crime reduction; and	13	
WHEREAS, States are currently precluded from establishing	14	
permanent daylight saving time by federal law, which requires		
the United States Secretary of Transportation to enforce uniform	16	

S. C. R. No. 8 As Adopted by the House	Page 2
application of that law across all time zones (certain states,	17
such as Arizona, previously opted out of daylight saving time);	18
and	19
WHEREAS, The Sunshine Protection Act of 2019 (H.R. 1556),	20
introduced in the 116th Congress, would institute permanent	21
daylight saving time nationwide; now therefore be it	22
RESOLVED, That we, the members of the 133rd General	23
Assembly of the State of Ohio, urge the Congress of the United	24
States to enact The Sunshine Protection Act of 2019 (H.R. 1556);	25
and be it further	26
RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the Senate transmit duly	27
authenticated copies of this resolution to the President of the	28
United States, President Pro Tempore and Secretary of the United	29
States Senate, the Speaker and Clerk of the United States House	30
of Representatives, the members of the Ohio Congressional	31
delegation, and the news media of Ohio.	32