## As Adopted by the Senate

133rd General Assembly Regular Session 2019-2020

crime reduction; and

S. C. R. No. 8

13

Senators Roegner, Peterson

Cosponsors: Senators Schuring, Blessing, Brenner, Burke, Coley, Dolan, Hoagland, Hottinger, Huffman, S., Johnson, Manning, McColley, Obhof, Wilson

## A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To urge Congress to enact The Sunshine Protection Act of	1
2019, which would permanently extend daylight saving	2
time.	3

## BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF OHIO (THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING):

WHEREAS, The Congress of the United States first adopted 4 daylight saving time during World War I to support war 5 industries. In addition, continuous daylight saving time was 6 observed during World War II, referred to as War Time, and 7 during the 1973 oil crisis; and 8 WHEREAS, The benefits of daylight saving time include 9 additional daylight in the evening hours, increased outdoor 10 playtime for the children and youth, expanded economic 11 opportunities, energy savings, improved traffic safety, and 12

WHEREAS, States are currently precluded from establishing14permanent daylight saving time by federal law, which requires15the United States Secretary of Transportation to enforce uniform16application of that law across all time zones (certain states,17such as Arizona, previously opted out of daylight saving time);18

## S. C. R. No. 8 As Adopted by the Senate

and 19 WHEREAS, The Sunshine Protection Act of 2019 (H.R. 1556), 20 introduced in the 116th Congress, would institute permanent 21 daylight saving time nationwide; now therefore be it 22 RESOLVED, That we, the members of the 133rd General 23 Assembly of the State of Ohio, urge the Congress of the United 24 States to enact The Sunshine Protection Act of 2019 (H.R. 1556); 25 and be it further 26 27 RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the Senate transmit duly authenticated copies of this resolution to the President of the 28 United States, President Pro Tempore and Secretary of the United 29 States Senate, the Speaker and Clerk of the United States House 30 of Representatives, the members of the Ohio Congressional 31 delegation, and the news media of Ohio. 32