As Reported by the Senate General Government and Agency Review Committee

133rd General Assembly Regular Session 2019-2020

S. C. R. No. 8

Senators Roegner, Peterson Cosponsor: Senator Schuring

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To urge Congress to enact The Sunshine Protection Act of	1
2019, which would permanently extend daylight saving	2
time.	3

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF OHIO (THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING):

WHEREAS, The Congress of the United States first adopted4daylight saving time during World War I to support war5industries. In addition, continuous daylight saving time was6observed during World War II, referred to as War Time, and7during the 1973 oil crisis; and8

WHEREAS, The benefits of daylight saving time include9additional daylight in the evening hours, increased outdoor10playtime for the children and youth, expanded economic11opportunities, energy savings, improved traffic safety, and12crime reduction; and13

WHEREAS, States are currently precluded from establishing14permanent daylight saving time by federal law, which requires15the United States Secretary of Transportation to enforce uniform16application of that law across all time zones (certain states,17such as Arizona, previously opted out of daylight saving time);18

S. C. R. No. 8	Page 2
As Reported by the Senate General Government and Agency Review Committee	-

and	19
WHEREAS, The Sunshine Protection Act of 2019 (H.R. 1556),	20
introduced in the 116th Congress, would institute permanent	21
daylight saving time nationwide; now therefore be it	22
RESOLVED, That we, the members of the 133rd General	23
Assembly of the State of Ohio, urge the Congress of the United	24
States to enact The Sunshine Protection Act of 2019 (H.R. 1556);	25
and be it further	26
RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the Senate transmit duly	27
authenticated copies of this resolution to the President of the	28
United States, President Pro Tempore and Secretary of the United	29
States Senate, the Speaker and Clerk of the United States House	30
of Representatives, the members of the Ohio Congressional	31

32

delegation, and the news media of Ohio.