OHIO SENATE JOURNAL

THURSDAY, AUGUST 5, 2021

SIXTY-SEVENTH DAY Senate Chamber, Columbus, Ohio **Thursday, August 5, 2021, 9:30 a.m.**

The Senate met pursuant to adjournment.

The journal of the last legislative day was read and approved.

INTRODUCTION AND FIRST CONSIDERATION OF BILLS

The following bills were introduced and considered for the first time:

S. B. No. 214 - Senator Maharath.

Cosponsor: Senator Yuko.

To amend sections 3313.60, 3314.03, 3326.11, and 3328.24 and to enact sections 3301.0722 and 3313.6027 of the Revised Code to require instruction in Asian American history for grades kindergarten through twelve, beginning in the 2022-2023 school year.

S. B. No. 215 - Senator Johnson.

Cosponsors: Senators Hoagland, Rulli, Huffman, S., Schaffer, Blessing, McColley, Romanchuk, Lang.

To amend sections 1547.69, 2307.601, 2901.05, 2901.09, 2923.12, 2923.121, 2923.122, 2923.123, 2923.126, 2923.128, 2923.16, and 2953.37 and to enact section 2923.111 of the Revised Code regarding a concealed handgun licensee's duty to carry the license and notify a law enforcement officer if the licensee is carrying a concealed handgun, a right of a person age twenty-one or older and not legally prohibited from firearm possession to carry a concealed handgun in the same manner as if the person was a licensee, and a pretrial immunity hearing.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Article XI, Section 1(A)(6) of the Ohio Constitution, the President of the Senate appoints the following individual to the Ohio Redistricting Commission:

Matt C Huffman

Pursuant to Article XI, Section 1(A) of the Ohio Constitution, the President of the Ohio Senate hereby joins with the Speaker of the Ohio House of Representatives in appointing the following individual to serve as the cochairperson of the Ohio Redistricting Commission:

Robert R. Cupp

COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE GOVERNOR

The President handed down the following messages from the Governor which were read by the Clerk:

STATE OF OHIO EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR COLUMBUS

I, Mike DeWine, Governor of the State of Ohio, do hereby appoint, Tim Bowers, from Hilliard, Franklin County, Ohio, as a Member of the Advisory Board on Amusement Ride Safety for a new term beginning March 3, 2021 and ending at the close of business January 1, 2027, replacing Tim Bowers, whose term expired.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto subscribed my name and caused the Great Seal of the State of Ohio to be affixed, at Columbus, this 3rd day of March in the year of our Lord, Two Thousand and Twenty-One.

[Seal] Mike DeWine, Governor

STATE OF OHIO EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR COLUMBUS

I, Mike DeWine, Governor of the State of Ohio, do hereby appoint, Kenneth M. Haffey, from Chesterland, Geauga County, Ohio, as a Member of the Bureau of Workers Compensation Board of Directors for a new term beginning June 12, 2021 and ending at the close of business June 11, 2024, replacing Kenneth M. Haffey, whose term expired.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto subscribed my name and caused the Great Seal of the State of Ohio to be affixed, at Columbus, this 22nd day of April in the year of our Lord, Two Thousand and Twenty-One.

[Seal] Mike DeWine, Governor.

STATE OF OHIO EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR COLUMBUS

I, Mike DeWine, Governor of the State of Ohio, do hereby appoint,

Jamillee L. Krob, from Canton, Stark County, Ohio, as a Member of the State Dental Board for a new term beginning April 7, 2021 and ending at the close of business April 6, 2025, replacing Jamillee L. Krob, whose term expired.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto subscribed my name and caused the Great Seal of the State of Ohio to be affixed, at Columbus, this 19th day of March in the year of our Lord, Two Thousand and Twenty-One.

[Seal] Mike DeWine,
Governor.

STATE OF OHIO EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR COLUMBUS

I, Mike DeWine, Governor of the State of Ohio, do hereby appoint, Tracie Jo Sanchez, from Lima, Allen County, Ohio, as a Member of the Bureau of Workers Compensation Board of Directors for a new term beginning June 12, 2021 and ending at the close of business June 11, 2024, replacing Tracie Jo Sanchez, whose term expired.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto subscribed my name and caused the Great Seal of the State of Ohio to be affixed, at Columbus, this 22nd day of April in the year of our Lord, Two Thousand and Twenty-One.

[Seal] Mike DeWine,
Governor

STATE OF OHIO EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR COLUMBUS

I, Mike DeWine, Governor of the State of Ohio, do hereby appoint, Micahel P. Taylor, from Steubenville, Jefferson County, Ohio, as a Member of the Bureau of Workers Compensation Board of Directors for a new term beginning June 12, 2021 and ending at the close of business June 11, 2024, replacing Michael P. Taylor, whose term expired.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto subscribed my name and caused the Great Seal of the State of Ohio to be affixed, at Columbus, this 22nd day of April in the year of our Lord, Two Thousand and Twenty-One.

[Seal] Mike DeWine, Governor. Said appointments were referred to the committee on Rules and Reference.

Clerk's Notation

To: Senate Clerk Vincent Keeran From: Minority Leader Kenny Yuko

Date: August 3, 2021

Re: Ohio Redistricting Commission Appointment

Pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 (A) of the Ohio Constitution, I hereby appoint state Senator Vernon Sykes to serve on the Ohio Redistricting Commission.

To: Senate Clerk Vincent Keeran

From: Senate Minority Leader Kenny Yuko

Date: August 5, 2021

Re: Ohio Redistricting Commission Co-Chair Appointment

Pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 (A) of the Ohio Constitution, I hereby join the Minority Leader of the Ohio House of Representatives in appointing state Senator Vernon Sykes to serve as co-chairperson of the Ohio Redistricting Commission.

On the motion of Senator Craig, the Senate adjourned until Monday, August 9, 2021 at 9:30 a.m.

Attest:	VINCENT L. KEERAN
	Clerk