JOURNALS OF THE SENATE AND HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

OHIO SENATE JOURNAL

TUESDAY, OCTOBER 19, 2021

EIGHTY-EIGHTH DAY Senate Chamber, Columbus, Ohio **Tuesday, October 19, 2021, 9:30 a.m.**

The Senate met pursuant to adjournment.

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 3, the Clerk called the Senate to order.

Senator O'Brien was selected to preside according to the rule.

The journal of the last legislative day was read and approved.

REPORTS OF STANDING AND SELECT COMMITTEES

Senator Wilson submitted the following report:

The standing committee on Financial Institutions and Technology, to which was referred **H. B. No. 177-**Representatives Carfagna, Fraizer, et al., having had the same under consideration, reports it back and recommends its passage.

YES - 6: TINA MAHARATH, HEARCEL F. CRAIG, NIRAJ ANTANI, JAY HOTTINGER, STEVE WILSON, BOB D. HACKETT

NO - 0.

The question being, "Shall the report of the committee be accepted?" The report of the committee was accepted.

INTRODUCTION AND FIRST CONSIDERATION OF BILLS

The following bills were introduced and considered for the first time:

S. B. No. 254 - Senators Maharath, Fedor. Cosponsors: Senators Yuko, Thomas, Antonio, Craig.

To enact section 2151.317 of the Revised Code to establish a foster youth bill of rights.

S. B. No. 255 - Senators Antonio, Williams. Cosponsors: Senators Schaffer, Yuko, Romanchuk, Thomas, Cirino.

To enact section 5534.917 of the Revised Code to designate a portion of Lorain Avenue in Cleveland as the "Officer Wayne A. Leon Memorial Highway."

S. B. No. 256 - Senator Wilson.

To amend sections 3905.051, 3905.06, and 3905.064 and to enact sections

3905.065, 3905.066, 3905.067, 3905.068, 3905.069, 3905.0610, and 3905.0611 of the Revised Code to amend the law related to travel insurance.

OFFERING OF RESOLUTIONS

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 55, the following resolutions were offered:

S. R. No. 200 - Senator Antonio.

Cosponsors: Senators Yuko, Williams.

Honoring Cleveland Metroparks on its 2021 Award of Excellence in Parks and Recreation Management.

S. R. No. 201 - Senator Roegner.

Honoring Hanna Killeen as the 2021 USA Today Ohio Field Hockey Player of the Year.

S. R. No. 202 - Senator Huffman, S.

Cosponsors: Senators Antonio, Blessing, Brenner, Cirino, Craig, Dolan, Fedor, Gavarone, Hackett, Hoagland, Hottinger, Huffman, M., Johnson, Kunze, Lang, Maharath, Manning, McColley, O'Brien, Peterson, Reineke, Roegner, Romanchuk, Rulli, Schaffer, Schuring, Sykes, Thomas, Williams, Wilson, Yuko.

In memory of Leon Vincent Lehner.

S. R. No. 203 - Senator Brenner.

Honoring Beverley L. Laubert on her retirement.

The question being, "Shall the resolutions listed under the President's prerogative be adopted?"

So the resolutions were adopted.

Message from the House of Representatives

Mr. President:

I am directed to inform you that the Speaker of the House of Representatives has signed the following bill:

Sub. S. B. No. 1-Senators Wilson, McColley – et al.

Attest:

Bradley J. Young, Clerk.

The President signed said bill.

Message from the House of Representatives

Mr. President:

I am directed to inform you that the House of Representatives has passed the following bills in which the concurrence of the Senate is requested:

Sub. H. B. No. 101 - Representatives Stephens, Edwards

Cosponsors: Representatives Kick, Riedel, Manning, Zeltwanger, Fowler Arthur, LaRe, Carfagna, Swearingen, Lipps, Lampton, Troy, Stewart, Johnson, Ray, Creech, Baldridge, Pavliga, Carruthers, Jones, Cross, Cutrona, Holmes, Miller, A., Miller, J., Bird, Blackshear, Brown, Callender, Click, Denson, Galonski, Ghanbari, Ginter, Hicks-Hudson, Hillyer, Hoops, John, Lanese, Lepore-Hagan, Loychik, McClain, Miller, K., O'Brien, Roemer, Schmidt, Smith, K., Sobecki, Stein, Sweeney, Upchurch, Weinstein, Wiggam, Wilkin, Young, T., Speaker Cupp

To amend sections 307.01, 307.021, 2301.51, and 5120.10 and to enact sections 342.01, 342.02, 342.03, 342.04, 342.05, 342.06, 342.07, 342.08, 342.09, 342.10, 342.11, 342.12, 342.13, 342.14, 342.15, 342.16, and 5705.234 of the Revised Code to establish new processes for funding the construction, acquisition, improvement, operation, and maintenance of jail facilities.

H. B. No. 178 - Representatives Schmidt, Miller, A.

Cosponsors: Representatives Cross, Baldridge, Carruthers, Abrams, Liston, Blackshear, Boggs, Brent, Brown, Crossman, Denson, Hicks-Hudson, Jarrells, Jones, Leland, Lepore-Hagan, Lightbody, Miller, J., O'Brien, Oelslager, Robinson, Russo, Smith, K., Smith, M., Sobecki, Upchurch, Weinstein, West, Young, T.

To amend section 3749.03 and to enact section 3749.08 of the Revised Code to limit the water pressure of water features at swimming pools and to name this act Makenna's Law.

Attest:

Bradley J. Young, Clerk.

Said bills were considered the first time.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 127.12 of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the

Senate appoints Senator Jay Hottinger to serve as a substitute for Senator Matt Dolan on the Controlling Board for the purposes of the October 25, 2021 meeting.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 381.630 (B)(1) of Am. Sub. H. B. 110 of the 134th General Assembly, the President of the Senate appoints the following member to serve on the Task Force to evaluate current operational structures and procedures at Wright State University's Lake Campus:

Lynn Franck (Mercer County)

Pursuant to Section 381.630 (B)(2) of Am. Sub. H. B. 110 of the 134th General Assembly, the President of the Senate appoints the following member to serve on the Task Force to evaluate current operational structures and procedures at Wright State University's Lake Campus:

Shelly Vaughn (Mercer County)

Pursuant to Section 381.630 (B)(3) of Am. Sub. H. B. 110 of the 134th General Assembly, the President of the Senate appoints the following member to serve on the Task Force to evaluate current operational structures and procedures at Wright State University's Lake Campus:

Jared Ebbing (Mercer County)

Pursuant to Section 381.630 (B)(4) of Am. Sub. H. B. 110 of the 134th General Assembly, the President of the Senate appoints the following member to serve on the Task Force to evaluate current operational structures and procedures at Wright State University's Lake Campus:

Lana Hinders (Mercer County)

Pursuant to Section 381.630 (B)(5) of Am. Sub. H. B. 110 of the 134th General Assembly, the President of the Senate appoints the following member to serve on the Task Force to evaluate current operational structures and procedures at Wright State University's Lake Campus:

Scott Albers (Shelby County)

Pursuant to Section 381.630 (B)(6) of Am. Sub. H. B. 110 of the 134th General Assembly, the President of the Senate appoints the following members to serve on the Task Force to evaluate current operational structures and procedures at Wright State University's Lake Campus:

Jeff Hazel (Mercer County) Kip Wright (Mercer County)

On the motion of Senator Lang, the Senate adjourned until Wednesday, October 20, 2021 at 1:30 p.m.

Attest:

VINCENT L. KEERAN, Clerk.