### As Reported by the House Armed Services and Veterans Affairs Committee

# 134th General Assembly Regular Session 2021-2022

Am. H. C. R. No. 32

#### Representatives Lightbody, Lampton

Cosponsors: Representatives Boggs, Brent, Click, Fowler Arthur, Galonski, Jarrells, Leland, Miller, A., Miranda, Ray, Riedel, Schmidt, Sheehy, Smith, K., Sobecki, Stewart, Weinstein, Young, T.

#### A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

T'O	recommend that the Air Force Research Lab at	ا
	Wright Patterson Air Force Base recognize Colonel	2
	William J. Cavanaugh for his contribution to the	3
	design and architecture of the AFRL Bio Acoustics	4
	Laboratory (Bldg 441; Area B; WPAFB).	5

## BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF OHIO (THE SENATE CONCURRING):

WHEREAS, The American Institute of Physics has published	6
Colonel William J. Cavanaugh's oral history in which he explains	7
the groundbreaking architectural achievement known as the	8
anechoic chamber in Ohio nearly seven decades ago; and	9
WHEREAS, The National Veterans Memorial and Museum has a	10
bench dedicated to Colonel and Mrs. Cavanaugh located in the	11
Memorial Grove; and	12
WHEREAS, The National Museum of the United States Air Force	13
in Dayton has added Colonel Cavanaugh to its "Wall of Honor"	14
alongside his beloved wife and son; and	15
WHEREAS, The Technical Committee on Architectural Acoustics	16
of the Acoustical Society of America has voted to endorse this	17

Am. H. C. R. No. 32 As Reported by the House Armed Services and Veterans Affairs Committee	Page 2
naming effort; now therefore be it	18
RESOLVED, That the 134th General Assembly of the State of	19
Ohio supports recognizing Colonel William J. Cavanaugh for his	20
contribution to the design and architecture of the United States	21
Air Force Research Lab Bio Acoustics Laboratory, and for his	22
outstanding and enduring service to our nation; and be it	23
further	24
RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the Ohio House of	25
Representatives transmit duly authenticated copies of this	26
resolution to the United States Secretary of Defense, the United	27
States Congressional delegation from Ohio, and the news media of	28
Ohio.	29