OHIO

House of Representatives

JOURNAL

THURSDAY, MARCH 16, 2023

TWENTIETH DAY

Hall of the House of Representatives, Columbus, Ohio Thursday, March 16, 2023, 9:00 o'clock a.m.

The House met pursuant to adjournment.

Pursuant to House Rule No. 23, the Clerk called the House to order.

Representative Cross was selected to preside under the Rule.

The journal of the previous legislative day was read and approved.

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

The following bills were introduced:

H. B. No. 114 - Representatives Humphrey, Seitz.

Cosponsors: Representatives Brennan, Williams, Miranda, Blackshear, Brent, Upchurch, McNally, Schmidt, Rogers, Weinstein, Isaacsohn, Brown, Mohamed.

To amend section 3517.13 of the Revised Code to allow a candidate to use campaign funds to pay certain child care costs.

H. B. No. 115 - Representatives Miranda, Brent.

Cosponsors: Representatives Russo, Brennan, Brown, Dell'Aquila, Denson, Grim, Lightbody, Skindell, Somani, Sweeney, Weinstein, Humphrey, Blackshear, Jarrells, Forhan, Miller, A., Baker, Miller, J., Brewer, Galonski, Isaacsohn, McNally, Mohamed, Robinson, Thomas, C., Upchurch, Liston.

To amend sections 4112.04 and 4117.08 and to enact sections 142.01, 142.02, 142.03, 142.04, 142.05, 142.06, 142.07, 142.08, 142.09, 142.10, 4113.12, 4113.43, 4117.141, 4145.01, 4145.02, 4145.03, 4145.04, 4145.05, 4145.06, 4145.07, 4145.08, and 4145.09 of the Revised Code to address wage disparities in public and private employment and to name this act the Ohio Equal Pay Act.

H. B. No. 116 - Representatives Peterson, Claggett.

To amend section 5747.01 of the Revised Code to allow taxpayers to deduct in a single year the full bonus depreciation and enhanced expensing allowances the taxpayer deducts for federal income tax purposes.

H. B. No. 117 - Representatives Manning, Robinson.

Cosponsors: Representatives Abdullahi, Abrams, Bird, Blackshear, Brennan, Brent, Brown, Dell'Aquila, Denson, Galonski, Grim, Humphrey, Isaacsohn, Jones, Liston, McNally, Miller, J., Miranda, Mohamed, Rogers, Russo, Stein, Thomas, C., Upchurch, Weinstein, Sweeney.

To amend sections 3301.07, 3301.0711, 3301.163, 3302.151, and 3313.608

of the Revised Code to eliminate retention under the Third Grade Reading Guarantee, to expand the grades for which intensive reading intervention is provided, and expand the inclusion of phonics in learning standards.

H. B. No. 118 - Representatives Santucci, Miller, M.

Cosponsors: Representatives Williams, Ferguson, Johnson, Schmidt, Lear, Willis, White, Dean, Hall.

To amend sections 5739.01 and 5739.02 of the Revised Code to exempt certain baby products from sales and use tax.

H. B. No. 119 - Representatives Fowler Arthur, Demetriou.

To enact section 5534.924 of the Revised Code to designate a portion of State Route 87 in Geauga County as the "Dr. Steven Takacs Memorial Highway."

H. B. No. 120 - Representatives Weinstein, Brennan.

Cosponsors: Representatives Abdullahi, Baker, Blackshear, Brent, Brewer, Brown, Dean, Dell'Aquila, Denson, Ferguson, Forhan, Galonski, Grim, Isaacsohn, Jarrells, Lightbody, Liston, McNally, Merrin, Miller, A., Miller, J., Miranda, Mohamed, Robinson, Rogers, Skindell, Somani, Sweeney, Thomas, C., Troy, Upchurch.

To amend section 4928.01 and to repeal section 4928.148 of the Revised Code to repeal the legacy generation resource provisions of H.B. 6 of the 133rd General Assembly and provide customers refunds.

Said bills were considered the first time.

REPORTS OF STANDING AND SELECT COMMITTEES AND BILLS FOR SECOND CONSIDERATION

Representative Galonski submitted the following report:

The standing committee on Civil Justice to which was referred **H. B. No. 34**-Representatives Klopfenstein, King, et al., having had the same under consideration, reports it back and recommends its passage.

RE: EXCUSE BREAST-FEEDING MOTHERS FROM JURY SERVICE

BRETT HUDSON HILLYER TAVIA GALONSKI DARNELL T. BREWER GARY CLICK JEAN SCHMIDT MICHAEL J. SKINDELL ADAM MATHEWS TIM BARHORST RICHARD D. BROWN ISMAIL MOHAMED BILL SEITZ BRIAN STEWART

The report was agreed to.

The bill was ordered to be engrossed and placed on the calendar.

Representative Galonski submitted the following report:

The standing committee on Civil Justice to which was referred **H. B. No. 35**-Representatives Seitz, Miranda, et al., having had the same under consideration, reports it back as a substitute bill and recommends its passage.

RE: ELIMINATE LIMITATIONS PERIOD FOR CERTAIN SEXUAL ABUSE CLAIMS

Representative Schmidt moved to amend the title as follows:

Add the names: "Galonski, Schmidt"

BRETT HUDSON HILLYER TAVIA GALONSKI DARNELL T. BREWER GARY CLICK ISMAIL MOHAMED BILL SEITZ BRIAN STEWART ADAM MATHEWS TIM BARHORST RICHARD D. BROWN RON FERGUSON JEAN SCHMIDT MICHAEL J. SKINDELL

The report was agreed to.

The bill was ordered to be engrossed and placed on the calendar.

Representative Forhan submitted the following report:

The standing committee on Government Oversight to which was referred **H. R. No. 33**-Representatives Robb Blasdel, McNally, et al., having had the same under consideration, reports it back and recommends its adoption.

RE: URGE CONGRESS PASS LAWS RE: TRAINS CARRYING HAZARDOUS MATERIALS

BOB PETERSON ELLIOT FORHAN JON CROSS DANI ISAACSOHN BILL SEITZ JIM THOMAS RICHARD D. BROWN TAVIA GALONSKI SHARON A. RAY MICHAEL J. SKINDELL

The report was agreed to.

The resolution was ordered to be engrossed and placed on the calendar.

MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

Representative LaRe moved that the following resolution be read by title only and brought up for immediate adoption:

H. R. No. 55 - Representatives Young, B. and Galonski

Honoring the Akron Optimist Club on its Centennial.

The motion was agreed to.

The question being, "Shall the resolution be adopted?"

The resolution was adopted.

MESSAGE FROM THE SPEAKER

Pursuant to House Rules 13, 28, and 30, the Minority Leader hereby makes the following changes to the Primary and Secondary Education committee, effective March 14, 2023:

Remove Representative Robinson; appoint Representative Brewer.

MESSAGE FROM THE SPEAKER

Pursuant to Section 123.20(B) of the Ohio Revised Code, the Speaker of the House hereby appoints the following members to the Ohio Facilities Construction Commission:

Appoint Representatives Miller, M., and Miranda.

On motion of Representative LaRe, the House adjourned until Tuesday, March 21, 2023 at 9:00 o'clock a.m.

Attest:	BRADLEY J. YOUNG,
	Clark