JOURNALS OF THE SENATE AND HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

# OHIO SENATE JOURNAL

MONDAY, JANUARY 23, 2023

# SEVENTH DAY Senate Chamber, Columbus, Ohio Monday, January 23, 2023, 9:30 a.m.

The Senate met pursuant to adjournment.

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 3, the Clerk called the Senate to order.

Senator Cirino was selected to preside according to the rule.

The journal of the last legislative day was read and approved.

### INTRODUCTION AND FIRST CONSIDERATION OF BILLS

The following bills were introduced and considered for the first time:

S. B. No. 25 - Senator Hackett.

To amend sections 323.28, 2329.01, 2329.151, 2329.152, 2329.153, 2329.17, 2329.18, 2329.19, 2329.20, 2329.211, 2329.26, 2329.27, 2329.312, 2329.51, and 2329.52 of the Revised Code relating to real property foreclosures.

S. B. No. 26 - Senator Manning.

To amend sections 1547.11, 3701.143, and 4511.19 of the Revised Code to change the laws pertaining to operating a vehicle or watercraft while under the influence of marihuana and the admissibility of evidence for purposes of OVI statutes.

S. B. No. 27 - Senator Roegner.

To enact section 3319.34 of the Revised Code to ratify the Interstate Teacher Mobility Compact.

S. B. No. 28 - Senator Roegner.

To enact sections 4730.70 and 4730.71 of the Revised Code to enter into the Physician Assistant Licensure Compact.

**S. B. No. 29 -** Senator Huffman, S. Cosponsors: Senators Cirino, O'Brien, Schaffer, Romanchuk.

To amend section 149.43 and to enact sections 3319.324, 3319.325, and 3319.326 of the Revised Code regarding education records and student data privacy.

## **OFFERING OF RESOLUTIONS**

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 55, the following resolutions were offered:

### 44 SENATE JOURNAL, MONDAY, JANUARY 23, 2023

S. R. No. 13 - Senator Manning.

Honoring RIDGID on its One Hundredth Anniversary.

**S. R. No. 14** - Senators Huffman, M., Huffman, S. Honoring Tyler Anderson as the 2022 U.S. Auto Tech National Champion.

**S. R. No. 15** - Senator Huffman, M. Honoring Auglaize County on its One Hundred Seventy-fifth Anniversary.

S. R. No. 16 - Senator Huffman, M.

Honoring the Minster High School girls cross country team on winning the 2022 Division III State Championship.

The question being, "Shall the resolutions listed under the President's prerogative be adopted?"

So the resolutions were adopted.

## **MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT**

Pursuant to Section 127.12 of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints the following senators to serve as members on the Controlling Board:

Senator Jerry Cirino Senator Bob Hackett Senator Vernon Sykes

## **MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT**

Pursuant to Sections 103.41(B)(1) AND 103.41(D) of the Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints the following members to the Joint Medicaid Oversight Committee:

Senator Mark Romanchuk, as Vice Chair Senator Stephen Huffman Senator Michele Reynolds Senator Catherine Ingram Senator Kent Smith

### **MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT**

Pursuant to Section 103.71 of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints the following senators to serve on the Correctional Institution

Inspection Committee:

Senator Nathan H. Manning, as Chair Senator Al Landis Senator Hearcel F. Craig Senator Paula Hicks-Hudson

# **MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT**

Pursuant to Section 4906.02(A) of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints the following senators to serve as non-voting members on the Power Siting Board:

Senator Bill Reineke Senator Rob McColley, as alternate

Also, pursuant to Section 4906.02(A) of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints the following senators to serve as non-voting members on the Power Siting Board:

Senator Kent Smith Senator Paula Hicks-Hudson, as alternate

# **MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT**

Pursuant to Section 3505.061(A) of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints the following to the Ohio Ballot Board:

Senator Theresa Gavarone

Pursuant to Section 3505.061(A) of the Ohio Revised Code, the Minority Leader of the Senate appoints the following to the Ohio Ballot Board:

Senator Paula Hicks-Hudson

# **MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT**

Pursuant to Section 105.41 (A)(1) 105.41 (C) of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints the following members to the Capitol Square Review and Advisory Board:

Senator Kirk Schuring, as Chair Senator Hearcel Craig

# 46 SENATE JOURNAL, MONDAY, JANUARY 23, 2023

On the motion of Senator Hackett, the Senate adjourned until Thursday, January 26, 2023 at 9:30 a.m.

Attest:

VINCENT L. KEERAN, Clerk.